WhatsApp messaging service. Image Credit: AFP

Dubai: WhatsApp has rolled out a new feature that can effectively disable users from interacting with each other in a group chat or share posts for everyone to comment on.

The Facebook-owned messaging app announced on Friday that the popular tool now offers an option for WhatsApp group administrators to have full control over what messages, images or videos get shared.

ALSO READ:
•  This spyware steals WhatsApp chats, selfies
•  How to delete embarrassing WhatsApp messages
•  WhatsApp to stop working on some iPhones, Android units

Most people use group chats to communicate with each other or chat to several users in one conversation. Now, the setting can be changed to allow only admins to share posts with multiple users.

With the new feature, users can follow a group chat only for the purpose of keeping track of the latest announcements rather than engage in a lengthy conversation or discussion that can be seen by up to more than 200 users.

“One way people use groups is to receive important announcements and information, including parents and teachers at schools, community centers and non-profit organisations. We’ve introduced this new setting so admins can have better tools for these use cases,” WhatsApp said.

How it works

To enable the new setting, simply open “Group info,” tap Group Settings > Send Messages and select “Only Admins.”

The setting is being rolled out globally and WhatsApp users can enjoy it with the latest supported versions of the app.