Pakistan’s Prime Minister-in-waiting Imran Khan. Image Credit: AP

Dubai: After winning a majority in the general elections on July 25, Pakistan’s Prime Minister-in-waiting and the chairman of Pakistan’s Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Imran Khan has won hearts on twitter today.

On their official twitter account, PTI put up an update about Khan’s oath-taking ceremony.

It read: “Chairman of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf directed the function to be held in a simple manner. The party has decided not to invite external figures. There will be no show of extravagance at the event.”

Faisal Javed Khan, a Member of the Senate of Pakistan, also confirmed the same.

On his twitter account, @FaisalJavedKhan, he posted: “Imran Khan has instructed to keep the oath taking ceremony very simple.”

This immediately started a conversation amongst tweeps in Pakistan, who were praising Khan for opting for a simple ceremony.

Tweep @SorayaAziz wrote: ”No foreign dignitaries or celebrities to attend PM oath-taking ceremony as Imran Khan opts for a simple event. Respect levels continue to rise.”

@Xulfiie tweeted: “That’s great. Waiting for the moment. Can’t control excitement!”

Tweep @fakhruzzaman posted: “Understandable, the burden on the taxpayers must be taken into consideration.”

@Nouman64609977 tweeted: “Austerity should be PTI hallmark, no extravagant parties or get-togethers.”

@ssakmashadi added: “And we, Pakistani nation, hope #PTI will keep all the matters of governance simple and straight.”

Initially, to celebrate the ceremony, PTI had planned to invite several foreign personalities, with the names of Bollywood superstar Aamir Khan and cricket legends Kapil Dev and Sunil Gavasker in the mix.

However, in an interview with Dawn, Pakistan-based English newspaper, PTI spokesperson Fawad Chaudhry said: “The PTI chairman has directed to stage the oath-taking event with austerity. It has been decided that no foreign personalities will be invited to the ceremony — it will be a completely national event. Only a few close friends of Imran Khan will be invited.”

It remains unclear who all will receive an invite after this announcement.