20200510 kuwait
Kuwait City's skyline. Image Credit: iStock

Dubai: The Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) announced that anyone who has spent the last 14 days in Bangladesh, Philippines, India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Iran, and Nepal will not be allowed to enter Kuwait, and it is not a ban on the nationals from these countries, local media reported.

The nationals belonging to these 7 countries are free to enter Kuwait through the specified procedures as long as they are traveling from other countries, which are among the permitted countries.

This means that nationals of these 7 banned countries can travel to another country and after staying for 14 days can enter Kuwait as long as they have a PCR certificate proving they are coronavirus negative and follow the health procedures.

see more

For example, an Indian citizen, who has not been in India for the last 14 days, can enter Kuwait without any issue.

Following the issuance of the latest decision to ban the entry of people from certain countries, the airlines have to reschedule their planned flights again, as their flights will have to operate one way from Kuwait to those countries, but people from those countries will be unable to travel to Kuwait.

Last month, Kuwait announced it would partially resume commercial flights from August, but does not expect to reach full capacity until a year later, as its aviation sector gradually recovers from a suspension sparked by the COVID-19 crisis.