ABU DHABI:  The United Arab Emirates, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, the Kingdom of Bahrain and the Arab Republic of Egypt have issued the following joint statement:

"The four countries have received the Qatari reply through the State of Kuwait, before the end of the additional deadline, which was granted under the request of the Emir of Kuwait Shaikh Sabah Al Ahamd Al Jaber Al Sabah. It will be responded to in due time."

The foreign ministers of Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates and Egypt are scheduled to hold a meeting in Cairo on Wednesday to discuss the future of the crisis with Qatar.

Earlier, UAE Minister of State for Foreign Affairs Dr Anwar Mohammad Gargash reiterated his warning that Doha would face divorce if the matter is not resolved.

“We are at a crucial historic crossroads that has nothing to do with sovereignty and with a common approach and common commitments at its core,” Gargash said on his Twitter account.

“The choices are either we take care of the common features and we refrain from undermining or destroying them or we go our separate ways,” he posted to his 410,000 followers on Twitter.