Manama: Bahrain on Wednesday placed Hezbollah leader Hassan Nasrallah, his deputy Naim Qasim and eight other individuals as well as four entities, all members of the Shura Council of the Lebanese militia, on its terror list, the foreign ministry said.

The ministry said that the designation was within the framework of Bahrain’s continuous efforts to combat all forms of violence, extremism and terrorism and to confront all those who finance or support it.

The efforts are in cooperation with the United States and Saudi Arabia, which co-chair the Terrorist Financing Targeting Centre (TFTC) comprising Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, and the United Arab Emirates, the ministry added.

Under the decision, approved by the cabinet on Monday, sanctions will be imposed on these individuals and entities, including freezing any assets in Bahrain and barring citizens and residents in the Kingdom from dealing with them.

Foreign Minister Shaikh Khalid Bin Ahmad Al Khalifa affirmed “Bahrain’s commitment to working collectively and effectively with all brothers and allies in the face of terrorism and drying its sources of funding.”

“The designation of these individuals and entities comes as part of Bahrain’s continuous efforts to combat violence, extremism and terrorism, and to expand cooperation and coordination with all efforts aimed at eradicating this dangerous scourge that threatens the security and stability of the world,” Shaikh Khalid said in a statement posted by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Shaikh Khalid urged the international community “to intensify efforts to eliminate all sources of support provided by Iran to terrorism and terrorist militias such as Hezbollah, which aims at spreading chaos and strife and seeks to undermine security and peace in the region and the world.”

The individuals and entities designated on the terrorism list:

1. Hassan Nasrallah

2. Naim Qasim

3. Ebrahim Amin Al Sayyid

4. Mohammad Yazbak

5. Hussain Khalil

6. Hashem Safieddine

7. Talal Hamiyah

8. Adham Tabaja

9. Al Inmaa Group

10. Al Inmaa Engineering and Contracting

11. Ali Yousuf Charara

12. Spectrum Group

13. Hassan Ebrahimi

14. Maher Trading