The Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) on Saturday announced the nominees for the November 1, by-election to six vacant seats of parliament.

The BNP Parliamentary Board at its meeting with party Chairperson and Prime Minister Khaleda Zia in the chair finalised the nomination, party sources said.

The nominees are Mohammad Helaludazzaman Talukder Lalu – Bogra-7, Alhaz Mohammad Ali Azgar Labi – Khulna-2, Advocate Jamilur Rashid Khan – Manikganj-2, Naser Rahman – Moulvibazar-3, Abul Khair Bhuiyan – Luxmipur-2, and Major (Rtd) Syed Ishkandar – Feni 1 constituency. Maj Syed Ishkander is the younger brother of Khaleda Zia.

Bogra-7, Khulna-2, Feni-1 and Laxmipur-2 constituencies were vacated by Khaleda Zia and Molvibazar-3 and Manikganj-2 were vacated by Finance and Planning Minister Saifur Rahman and Harunur Rashid Khan Monno.

The Election Commission announced the schedule for the by-election on Nov. 1. The main opposition Awami League has decided to stay away from the by-election.