On Monday, Saudi health authorities reported four new coronavirus cases. Image Credit: Agency

Dubai: Saudi Arabia on Monday extended the ban on travel to five more countries – France, Germany, Spain, Turkey, and Oman. On Sunday, Saudi Arabia had banned travel to nine countries, including the UAE, Kuwait, Bahrain, Egypt, Lebanon, Iraq, Italy, South Korea, and Syria. This brings to 14 the total number of countries Saudi citizens and residents are banned from visiting.

The move is part of strict measures instituted by the kingdom to contain the spread of the deadly coronavirus.

As per the decision, all travel (air and sea) to the aforementioned countries will be suspended. The decision excludes evacuation and commercial flights.

On Monday, health authorities in the country reported four new coronavirus cases, bringing the total of recorded cases to 15. The ministry added that new cases include one Saudi national, two Bahrainis and an American.

Saudi Arabia also announced it will impose a fine of up to 500,000 riyals on those who fail to disclose complete health-related information at the country’s entry points.