Officials of Election Commission of Pakistan speak at a dialogue with media and civil society representatives about local government polls in Sindh. Image Credit: Election Commission of Pakistan

Karachi: The first phase of local government elections will be held in 14 districts of Sindh on June 26 with a special focus on boosting the participation of women, transgender people, and differently-abled persons.

The 14 districts that will go to the polls are Ghotki, Sukkur, Khairpur, Jacoabad, Kashmore, Qambar, Shahdadkot, Nawabshah, Larkana, Shikarpur, Naushahro Feroze, Mirpurkhas, Umerkot, and Tharparkar. The elections in the rest of the districts of Sindh will be held on July 24.

A quota of 33 per cent of seats will be reserved for women, and labourers, farmers, and youth will each get five per cent representation, while differently-abled persons and the transgender community each will get one per cent in different local government agencies of Sindh.

Provincial Election Commissioner Sindh Ejaz Anwar Chauhan told media persons that the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had put in extra efforts to rope in differently-abled persons, women, and people belonging to the transgender community by boosting theor participation.

He said the ECP had established a voters’ education committee in every district to increase the turnout of women voters on the polling day.

Chauhan said the ECP had worked with the National Database and Registration Authority to send special mobile enrollment teams to the backward areas for enlisting female residents as voters.

He said that the numbers of the registered woman voters had increased manifold owing to such efforts of the ECP.

Chauhan said that underprivileged Tharparkar districts of Sindh had witnessed the maximum turnout of the woman voters in the last general elections.

Laws would be adopted to further increase the participation of women in the poll process. He said the ECP will make allout efforts to ensure peaceful and transparent conduct of the local government polls in Sindh.