Syed Murad Ali Shah of the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) was elected the leader of the house and hence the chief minister of Sindh by members of the provincial assembly yesterday.

In the election, Shah got 97 votes while Shaheryar Mahar, the joint candidate of opposition benches, bagged 61 votes.

As many as 158 members of the Sindh Assembly voted while three members, despite being present in the House, preferred to abstain. A few others could not attend the session because of various reasons.

Shah, elected chief minister of the of province for the second consecutive time, expressed his gratitude to the MPAs for reposing their confidence in him and assured them that he would serve the people of Sindh without any discrimination.

Members belonging to opposition parties including Shaheryar Mahar of Grand Democratic Alliance and those from PTI, MQM and MMA felicitated Shah and promised to stand by him in matters that are in the interest of Sindh and its people.