Rekha presenting ShahRukh Khan - Best Actor Male at the 56th Idea Filmfare Awards 2010. Image Credit: IANS

Shah Rukh Khan and Kajol won the best actor and actress award for My Name Is Khan at the 56th Filmfare Awards on Saturday, which was ruled by small budget movie Udaan that bagged as many as eight trophies.

Karan Johar walked away with the best director award for My Name Is Khan, while Salman Khan starrer Dabangg was declared the best film at the gala event, hosted by Ranbir Kapoor and Imran Khan. The two were at their wittiest best.

In pictures: Filmfare Awards 2010

But it's the first-time director Vikramaditya Motwane's Udaan that bagged maximum awards. The film won the best screenplay and the best story for Motwane and Anurag Kashyap; best cinematography for Mahendra Shetty; best background score for Amit Trivedi; best supporting actor male for Ronit Roy; and best film (jury).

Udaan also won the best director (jury) award for Motwane and best sound design for Kunal Sharma. Pritam Das also won the same award for Love Sex Aur Dhokha.

Dabangg, the most successful film of 2010, won five awards including best action for Vijayan Master; best debutant female for Sonakshi Sinha; and best music for Sajid-Wajid and Lalit Pandit.

Namrata Sharma won the best female singer for Munni in Dabangg and shared it with Sunidhi Chauhan, who won it for Sheila ki jawani (Tees Maar Khan).

Light-hearted romantic film Band Baaja Baaraat walked away with three awards — best debut director for Manish Sharma, best debut actor male for Ranveer Singh and best dialogue for Habib Faisal.

Farah Khan walked away with the best choreography award for Sheila Ki Jawani from her directorial venture Tees Maar Khan.

The best male singer award went to Rahat Fateh Ali Khan for crooning Dil toh baccha hai ji in Ishqiya and the song also won best lyrics award for Gulzar.

Vidya Balan got the best actress (jury) award for playing a conniving and scheming woman in Ishqiya.

Kareena Kapoor walked away with best supporting actress for We Are Family.

Ninety-year-old legendary singer Manna De got the lifetime achievement award, while Bollywood megastar Amitabh Bachchan was honoured for his forty years in Hindi cinema and his so-called arch rival Shah Rukh Khan gave him the award.