Buildings are seen from across the water in Doha. Three new cases of the deadly coronavirus were confirmed in Qatar. Image Credit: Reuters

Dubai: Qatar has temporarily banned the entry of people arriving from 15 countries, including India, Pakistan, China, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Bangladesh, Nepal, Philippines, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Syria and Thailand.

Qatar Airways had previously suspended flights to and from Italy.

Qatar also announced on Monday that all schools and universities will close as of tomorrow (Tuesday) as it grapples to contain coronavirus, Al Arabiya reported.

Three new cases of the deadly coronavirus were confirmed in Qatar, the Ministry of Health announced, raising the total number of reported cases to 15 as of Sunday, Qatar News Agency (QNA) reported.

Qatar, which reported its first case on February 29 (a citizen returning from Iran), had previously evacuated its citizens and those of Kuwait's from Iran as the virus swept through the country quickly.

The move comes as airlines across the globe have suspended flights to countries hit particularly hard by coronavirus.

Earlier this week, the Qatari government said that its citizens along with GCC nationals entering Qatar or travelling to other Gulf countries should use their passports, instead of ID cards as a precautionary measure against the Spread of COVID-19.