Islambad: The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has emerged as the largest political party in national elections, winning 116 of the 270 National Assembly seats, according to the figures announced by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Saturday.

ECP released the final preliminary results for the 11th General Election after more than 56 hours after the voting process was concluded.

The outgoing Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) managed to bag 64 seats while the PPP placed third with 43 seats in the National Assembly.

An alliance of multiple religious parties called the Muttahida Majlis-i-Amal (MMA) secured 12 seats whereas the Karachi-based Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) could garner just six seats.

The newly formed Balochistan Awami Party (BAP), whose leader Siraj Raisani was among the 128 people killed in a bomb blast, won four seats.

The PML-Q won four seats, the Sindh-based Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA) two seats, the Balochistan National Party (BNP) three seats while the Awami National Party (ANP), Awami Muslim League (AML) and Jamhoori Wattan Party (JWP) each had to content with one seat in the National Assembly.

Thirteen independent candidates also succeeded in the election and are likely to play an important role in government formation. The elections to two National Assembly seats was postponed by the ECP and will likely be held along with by-elections to seats vacated by candidates who have won more than one seat.

The lower house of parliament has a total of 342 members, of which 272 are directly elected by the people, whereas 60 seats are reserved for women and 10 for religious minorities.

Breakdown of Provincial Assembly results

Punjab Assembly

Punjab assembly has a total of 295 seats, of which PML-N clinched 129 and PTI won 123 seats.

PML-Q bagged seven seats while the PPP clinched six seats. Independent candidates won 29 seats.

Sindh Assembly

The PPP bagged 76 out of the total 129 seats in the Sindh assembly. The PTI won 23, MQM 16 and the GDA clinched 11 seats. MMA also won one seat.

KP Assembly

The Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) assembly has a total of 97 seats, out of which PTI managed to win 65 seats, MMA 10, Awami National Party (ANP) six and the PML-N five.

Balochistan Assembly

The Balochistan Assembly has 50 seats, out of which the BAP clinched 15 seats, the MMA won nine, BNP six seats and the PTI won four seats.