Hyderabad: YS Jaganmohan Reddy was all set to become the next Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh as YSR Congress party swept to power with an overwhelming majority handing out a stunning defeat to the incumbent Telugu Desam Party.

YSR Congress, formed in 2011 when YSR family parted ways with Congress, was all set to win 150 of the 175-member state assembly leaving N Chandrababu Naidu’s TDP far behind with mere 24 seats. Jana Sena party of popular Telugu actor Pawan Kalyan was wiped out with Pawan leading in Gauwaka constituency in Visakhapatnam. BJP and Congress drew a blank.

Accepting the verdict of the people, N Chandrababu Naidu was going to Hyderabad to submit resignation to the governor ESL Narasimhan.

As elated and frenzied supporters of Jaganmohan Reddy were celebrating the massive victory across the state, bursting crackers and distributing sweets, the party has convened a meeting of newly elected legislators in Amarvati on Saturday. After the meeting formally elects Jagan as leaders of YSRC Legislature party, Jagan will take oath as the Chief Minister on May 30, party sources said.

Jagan, who watched the election results on television at his new residence in Amarvati with fans celebrating outside, was closeted with his senior colleagues and family members.

His close confidante and MP Vijay Sai Reddy and political consultant Prashant Kishore were with him as the reports of party’s victory poured in from all corners of the state.

“This is the victory of Andhra Pradesh. I am thankful to the people who blessed the YSR Congress”, Jaganmohan Reddy said in his message through the social media.

Jaganmohan Reddy retained his Pulivendula assembly seat in Kadapa with an impressive margin.

While Chandrababu Naidu won from his traditional seat of Kuappam in Chittoor, his son and a state minister Nara Lokesh was trailing in Mangalgiri.

Chandrababu Naidu’s co-brother Daggubati Venkateshwara Rao, who contested from Prachur in Prakasham district was leading with a narrow margin.

Several members of Naidu’s cabinet were also facing defeat. They include Ganta Srinivas Rao, Sujay Krishna, S Chandramohan Reddy, Pitani Satyanarayna, Akhila Priya, Amarnath Reddy and Nakka Babu.

Film star and YSRCP candidate Roja won from Nagari seat with a majority of 2681 votes.

Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Ra was among the notables who greeted Jagan on his victory. Congratulating Jaganmohan Reddy over phone KCR expressed hoped that under his leadership AP will progress and the relations between the two states will improve further.