Om Prakash Rawa, the Chief Election Commissioner of India. Image Credit: PTI

NEW DELHI: The Election Commission of India on Saturday announced sing-phase assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Mizoram and Telangana and two-phase polls for Chhattisgarh.

Counting of votes set on December 11, according to the Election Commission.

Om Prakash Rawat, the Chief Election Commissioner of India, announced the election dates and counting of ballots in a media briefing on Saturday.

Following are the updates:.

Telangana and Rajasthan state assembly elections will be held on December 7.

■  Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram elections to be held on November 28.

■ Two-phase polls in Chhattisgarh: November 12 (First phase) and November 20 (Second phase).

By-polls in Shimoga, Bellary and Mandya in Karnataka will be held on November 3, said the commissioner, as quoted by the Times of India.


The commissioner told Indian media that counting of votes will be done on December 11 for Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Mizoram, Rajasthan and Telangana state assembly elections.

The Model code of conduct will come into force in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram with effect from Saturday. 

Rawat held a meeting with chief electoral officers of five poll-bound states in Delhi on Friday. The chief electoral officers of Rajasthan, MP, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram attended the two-day meeting.

More details to follow.