New Delhi: Alok Verma is an officer of the Indian Police Service (IPS) with more than 35 years of experience in policing and vigilance. He is the 27th Director of Central Bureau of Investigation. His appointment at CBI was his 24th posting as a police officer.

Before his appointment at CBI, he was the Commissioner of Delhi Police. He is known for the instrumental role he played in introducing women Police Control Room (PCR) in the national capital.

In order to bring transparency in Delhi Police for licence procurement, registering of complaints and recruitment of staff, Verma started the system of online applications. Through the procedure, people could easily obtain various types of licenses issued by Delhi Police.

During 2016, 26,366 Delhi Police personnel received their much-awaited promotions under Verma’s watch. In fact, under his tenure, 2016 was a landmark year for policy changes relating to promotions in Delhi Police. As many as 11,371 constables were elevated as head constables, 12,813 head constables as assistant sub-inspectors (ASI), 1,792 ASIs as sub-inspectors and 390 sub-inspectors as inspectors.

Before assuming the office of Commissioner of Delhi Police, Verma headed several other organisations. He served as Director General of Police (DGP) in Mizoram and Puducherry, Inspector General of Police (IGP) in Andaman and Nicobar Islands, and Director General (DG) for Delhi’s Tihar Jail. He initiated several educational and skill development programmes for the inmates of Tihar.

During all his postings, Verma championed the cause of welfare of the force personnel. As chief of police in Mizoram, Puducherry and Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Verma introduced a slew of measures for streamlining services to the people and uplifting the morale of his force.

Educated at St. Xavier’s School, Delhi, he completed his post graduate education in history at St. Stephen’s College, Delhi. He joined IPS at the age of 22, being the youngest officer in his batch.

He was decorated with the President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service in 2003 and Police Medal for Meritorious Service in 1997.