Jeev Milkha Singh
Dubai-based Jeev Milkha Singh, who recently received an invite to his first Senior Major Championship in the US. Image Credit: Supplied

Dubai: India’s Jeev Milkha Singh has received an invitation to play in his first Senior Major, the 2022 KitchenAid Senior PGA Championship at Harbor Shores in Benton Harbor, Michigan, from May 26-29 with a prizefund of $3,250,000.

On receiving the invite, Jeev from India said: “This will be my first Major as a senior golfer, since I turned 50 in December last year. It will be exciting to catch up with all my old friends. It has been a while since I have seen some of them. That is the game we play and the life we lead. It will be fun also to be one of the youngsters in the tournament for a change.

Big week

“It will be a big week for Senior Golf, the Champions Tour and a big week for me,” said Jeev, a Dubai Golden Visa Awardee.

“I will be flying direct from India to Michigan in the US at the end of this week and then to Detroit a couple of days later.

“I will also be playing in the Senior US Open Qualifier organised by the USGA, that I am not currently exempt for. The Senior US Open will be held from June 23 — 2 at Saucon Valley CC, where the purse is $4 million.

Back on road again

“I am hoping for an invite on the Champions Tour the first week in June after the Senior PGA and then I plan to head to England.

“Places and invites on the Champions Tour are very precious and that is my ultimate target this year, to gain my full Champions Tour Card.

“After very little travel over the last few months and couple of years, it seems I am back on the road again,” concluded Jeev.

There are 156 players in the field for the KitchenAid Senior PGA Championship with so many household names confirmed. Some of them are:

Rich Beem (US),

Paul Broadhurst (Eng),

Alex Cejka (Ger),

Roger Chapman (Eng),

KJ Choi (Korea),

Darren Clarke (NI),

Jose Coceres (Arg),

Fred Couples (US),

John Daly (US),

David Duval (US),

Ernie Els (RSA),

Jim Furyk (US),

Retief Goosen (RSA),

Richard Green (Aus),

Padraig Harrington (Ire),

Thongchai Jaidee (Thai),

Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spain),

Robert Karlsson (Swe),

Bernhard Langer (Ger),

Sandy Lyle (Scot),

Colin Montgomerie (Scot),

Jose Maria Olazabal (Spain),

Paul McGinley (Ire),

Phillip Price (Wales),

Vijay Singh (Fiji),

Mike Weir (Can),

YE Yang (Korea).