GIU - Scottie Schaffler
Scottie Scheffler of the United States, world No.1 and winner at the Masters last month, plays his shot from the fifth tee during a practice round prior to the start of the 2022 PGA Championship at Southern Hills Country Club in Tulsa, Oklahoma. Image Credit: AFP

Tulsa: The PGA Championship gets underway Thursday in Tulsa. Oklahoma. Here’s everything you need to know about the year’s second golf major:

All times Eastern.

When is the PGA Championship?

The PGA Championship takes place Thursday through Sunday.

What is the PGA Championship TV/streaming schedule?

TV schedule

Thursday-Friday: 2-8 pm, ESPN

Saturday-Sunday: 10 am-1 pm, ESPN; 1 pm -7 pm, CBS

ESPN will air an alternate telecast of the tournament hosted by Joe Buck, who is new to the network after years at Fox Sports, and golf analyst Michael Collins. A number of guests are slated to stop by, including Peyton and Eli Manning, Troy Aikman, Josh Allen, Charles Barkley, Fred Couples, Jon Hamm and Doris Burke.

On Thursday and Friday, the alternate broadcast will air from 1 to 2 p.m. on ESPN and from 2 to 5 p.m. on ESPN2. (It will stream in full on ESPN Plus.) On Saturday and Sunday, it will air on ESPN from 9 to 10 a.m. and then stream on ESPN Plus from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Where is the PGA Championship?

Tulsa’s Southern Hills is hosting a major championship for the eighth time and the PGA Championship for a record fifth time. This year’s tournament originally was slated to be held at Trump National Golf Club in Bedminster, N.J., but was moved to Southern Hills in January 2021 after the January 6 attack on the US Capitol. At the time, the PGA of America said holding the tournament at a Donald Trump-owned club “would be detrimental to the PGA of America brand.”

The par-70 course, which opened in 1936, was renovated in 2019 to modernize the layout and more closely resemble the original design of architect Perry Maxwell. Golf course architect Gil Hanse and his renovation team removed trees, expanded fairways, added bunkers and restored greens complexes so approach shots have a greater chance of funneling off instead of trundling toward the hole. At 7,365 yards, the course will play longer than in 2007, the previous time it hosted the PGA Championship.

Phil Mickelson with the PGA Championship trophy
Phil Mickelson, who became the oldest winner of PGA Chmapionship last year at 50 years, will be conspicuous by his absence this time. Image Credit: Reuters

Who won the PGA Championship last year?

Phil Mickelson won his second PGA Championship last year at Kiawah Island’s Ocean Course in South Carolina, at 50 becoming the oldest golfer to win a major championship. Since then, Mickelson has been the subject of much controversy, and Friday he announced he will not compete in the event this year.

This month, author Alan Shipnuck released an excerpt from his Mickelson biography, which comes out Tuesday. The book says that according to a US government audit of Mickelson’s finances, he had gambling losses of more than $40 million over a four-year period between 2010 and 2014, an amount that probably was more than all of the money he made from golf and endorsements. It also says Mickelson and longtime caddie Jim “Bones” Mackay split up in 2017 because Mickelson owed Mackay hundreds of thousands of dollars in back pay.

This year, Mickelson skipped the Masters for the first time since 1994 and hasn’t played on the PGA Tour since missing the cut in late January at the Farmers Insurance Open. His most recent competitive appearance was at the Saudi International, an Asian Tour event in February at which he finished tied for 18th.


What is the size of the PGA Championship field?

The PGA Championship field of 156 annually garners the highest strength-of-field ranking as compiled by the Official World Golf Ranking. Though the tournament does set aside 20 spots for club professionals and teachers, it’s also the only major that does not extend invitations to amateurs.

The following golfers received invitations to this year’s PGA Championship:

Former PGA Championship winners.

Winners of the three other major championships from the previous five years.

Winners of the past three Players Championships.

The gold medal winner from the 2020 Olympic golf tournament.

The defending Senior PGA Championship winner.

The top 15 and ties from the previous year’s PGA Championship.

The top 20 players from the most recent PGA Professional Championship.

The top 70 golfers on the PGA Tour money list between the 2021 Byron Nelson and the 2022 Wells Fargo Championship.

Members of the 2021 Ryder Cup teams who are in the top 100 of the world rankings as of May 9.

Winners of PGA Tour events between last year’s PGA Championship and this year’s tournament.

Players who are invited by the PGA of America. (Generally, these are golfers ranked in the top 100 who do not meet any of the other requirements.)

If there are still openings, the field is filled out with golfers who have garnered PGA Championship qualifying points but have not otherwise qualified.

What is the cut line?

The top-70 and ties make the cut at the PGA Championship, which is the same cut line as at the British Open. The Masters cut line is the top 50 and ties, but that tournament has a significantly smaller field. The U.S. Open cut line is the top 60 and ties.

What is the weather forecast?

The forecast is nearly rain-free, with highs in the low 90s for Thursday’s opening round before things cool off. The highs Saturday and Sunday look to be in the low 70s. There could be a good amount of breeze all four days, particularly Friday, when winds are forecast at 15 to 25 mph.

Is Tiger Woods playing in the PGA Championship?

Woods, a four-time PGA Championship winner (including at Southern Hills in 2007), is listed as in the field for this year’s tournament. He has played in only one tournament since suffering severe injuries in a 2021 car crash, finishing 47th at the Masters in April.

What does the PGA Championship winner receive?

Last year, Mickelson received $2.16 million out of a $12 million prize pool for winning the PGA Championship. The winner also gets to keep the massive Wanamaker Trophy - which measures 28 inches high and 27 inches across from handle to handle and weighs 27 pounds - for 12 months, though he gets a smaller version of the trophy to keep permanently and can purchase a full-size replica.

- Washington Post