race to malaysia-1651395158664
Winners of the respective divisions in the qualifiers for the Emirates NBD Race to Malaysia with Saurabh Lodha, Emirates NBD Business Manager, sponsors, organisers and Arabian Ranches Golf Club Men's Captain Paul Bryson at Arabian Ranches Golf Club. Image Credit: Supplied

Dubai: Anthony Steele (10) had a net 67 for the ‘Round of the Day’ in the Arabian Ranches Golf Club Qualifier for the 2022 Emirates NBD Race to Malaysia.

Steele had nines of 38 and 39 for an impressive 77 gross.

Highlights of the round were the eagle on hole 3 and five gross birdies on holes: 7, 9, 15, 16 and 18.

Steele now qualifies to play in the UAE National Final of the Emirates NBD Race to Malaysia to be held on October 1 at Al Hamra Golf Club, Ras Al Khaimah.

The Emirates NBD Race to Malaysia is sanctioned by the Emirates Golf Federation. The winners of the respective five Divisions in the National Final will qualify to represent the UAE in the World Final to be held in Malaysia in November alongside another 46 participating nations.

Division A was won by Graeme McCann (Scr), who after a modest 38 front nine holes (holes 1-9), stormed home over the back nine in just 31 shots, with four birdies and an eagle 2 on hole 15, for a gross 69.

Also qualifying for Al Hamra are the other three divisional winners: Kevin Barrett, T.R. Vijayan and Gary Thompson.

A total of 52 players played in this Arabian Ranches Golf Club Qualifier, the fourth of the 13 Qualifying Rounds throughout the UAE.

The 2022 Emirates NBD Race to Malaysia is powered by Thriwe with sponsors: Aaro, Athletic Drive, BMW AGMC, Accuracy, Msangai Adventure, EGOLF Megastore, WETEL TV, is organised by Sport2Business and supported by Dubai Sports Council.

Results (Men. Blue Tee Course, Slope: 125, Rating 71.3. Ladies. Red Tee Course, Slope: 120, Rating 71.6):

Division A (Handicap 5 and less)

Graeme McCann (Scr) 69.

Raymond Logan (2) 71.

Division B (6-10)

Kevin Barrett (6) 69.

Andre Grove (8) 70

Simon Sinclair (8) 70

Division C (11-15)

Anthony Steele (10) 67.

Dr Marlon Pereira (16) 70.

Division D (16-20)

T.R. Vijayan (17) 77.

Division E (21-25)

Gary Thompson (21) 77.