Naseem shah
Pakistan pacer Naseem Shah, who has been impressive in the Tests, has been roped in for the shorter formats for the first time. Image Credit: AFP

Islamabad: Pakistan has dropped fast bowler Hasan Ali for a limited-over series against the Netherlands and the Asia Cup in the UAE.

Hasan has been struggling in the white-ball formats since 2019, claiming 16 wickets in 18 One Day Internationals and 27 wickets in his last 21 Twenty20 internationals.

“Hasan has been given a break from international cricket and he has been replaced by Naseem Shah,” Pakistan’s chief selector Mohammad Wasim said in a statement Wednesday. Naseem “is express fast and can give further impetus to the fast bowling department, which already boasts Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Shahnawaz Dahani.”

International debut

Naseem has taken 33 wickets in 13 Test matches, but is yet to make his international debut in the shorter formats. Wasim said Naseem has “demonstrated with the red ball that he is an attacking option with good pace and controlled swing.”

Pakistan will play a three-match ODI series against the Netherlands in Rotterdam from August 16-21 before competing in the Asia Cup from August 27 to September 11.

Opening batters Abdullah Shafique and Imam-ul-Haq, wicketkeeper-batter Mohammad Haris, middle-order batter Salman Ali Agha and leg-spinner Zahid Mehmood will be part of ODI team. Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed and Usman Qadir will join the squad for the Asia Cup.

Knee injury

Fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi was retained in both the squads after missing out on last month’s second Test against Sri Lanka because of a knee injury.

The PCB said Afridi’s rehabilitation programme will be overseen by the team trainer and physiotherapist.

Pakistan’s training camp will be held in Lahore from August 6-11 before the squad flies to Amsterdam on August 12.


ODIs: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan, Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Imam-ul-Haq, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Salman Ali Agha, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani and Zahid Mehmood.

Asia Cup: Babar Azam, Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, and Usman Qadir.