Sharjah: Thirteen-year-old Natasha Michael Cherriath will lead the UAE team in the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) Women's cricket tournament in Malaysia.

Meena Shankar is the vice captain.

The Emirates Cricket Board announced their first ever UAE women's team after an intense two-month camp at the under the guidance of former Indian players Pramila Bhatt and Smitha Harikrishna at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

Sheila Razdan, the Administration Officer, Media and Communication of the International Cricket Council (ICC) have been appointed as the manager of the team.

Physically fit

"We have got a talented team and we can surprise our opponents. Pramila and Smitha has done a wonderful job in shaping the team," remarked Sheila to Gulf News.

"We have a team comprising many enthusiastic school students and hence they are physically fit and agile. They have worked very hard and are keen to display their skills in Malaysia," added Sheila.

Mazhar Khan, the Administrator of the ECB, said: "We have some exceptionally talented players. Despite the heat, all the players have worked hard at the camp. Our team is capable of putting up a good show."

The UAE team will leave for Kuala Lumpur on July 8 and compete in the ACC tournament from July 11 to 17. Smitha, who has played in 22 One-day international matches, will accompany the team as coach and guide them on their first ever appearance in a competitive tournament. Eight countries are contesting in the ACC tournament.

The matches will be of 30-overs a side duration. The eight teams have been divided into two groups.

UAE is in Group B along with Bangladesh, Singapore and China. The Group A comprise Hong Kong, Malaysia, Thailand and Nepal.

UAE will play their first match on July 11 against Bangaldesh. After a two-day break, UAE will meet China on July 14. On July 16, UAE will play Singapore. The semifinal will be held on July 17 and the final of July 18.

UAE will play their group matches at the Institute Perguruan Temenggong Ibrahim ground in Johor.

The squad

UAE: Natasha Michael Cherriath (captain), Meena Shankar (vice-captain), Natasha E. Dos Santos Robinson, Manvi Dhodhi, Veni Praveen (wicket-keeper), Samiya, Charvi Ajay Bhatt, Jesar Maqsood Shah, Nicole Ceceilia D'Silva, Malitha Pillai, Anisha Sharma, Tanya Maria Flynn, Petule Shalom Nadar and Tahira Ali Akbar. Shiela Razdan (manager), Smitha Harikrishna (Coach).

Standby: Bhairavi Prakash, Sneha Sankar, Fathima, Maitrayee Kulkarni.