Classifieds powered by Gulf News

Boult on fire as New Zealand wrap up ODI series

Pakistan, bundled out for 74, scraped past their all time low

  • New Zealand players celebrate Pakistan’s Hasan Ali being caught during the third one day international cricketImage Credit: AFP
  • New Zealand’s Trent Boult bowls during the third one day international cricket match between New Zealand and PImage Credit: AFP
Gulf News

Dunedin: A withering spell by Trent Boult saw New Zealand destroy Pakistan by 183 runs in the third One-day International to comfortably wrap up the series in Dunedin on Saturday.

Boult rocked Pakistan with three wickets in five balls to take out the cream of their top order on his way to figures of five for 17.

New Zealand, batting first, were restricted to 257, with their innings boosted by 11 off the final over before Boult was dismissed on the last ball.

Then, after Boult’s near unplayable overs, Pakistan were all out for 74 in the 28th over to give New Zealand an unbeatable 3-0 lead in the five-match series.

At eight for 32, Pakistan were threatening two unwanted records — the lowest ODI score of 35, held by Zimbabwe, and Pakistan’s own lowest score of 43 — before Sarfraz Ahmed (14 not out), Mohammad Amir (14) and Rumman Raees (16) delayed the inevitable finish.

Boult was in action in the second over when Azhar Ali was caught by Ross Taylor at first slip without scoring.

Danger man Fakhar Zaman was bowled for two and Taylor also caught Mohammad Hafeez for a duck in Boult second over and Pakistan were in a hole they were never going to get out of.

If New Zealand thought they were slow making 37 for one off the first 10 overs, Pakistan were in dire trouble at nine for three at the same stage.

But when struggling to stay afloat, Babar Azam was unnecessarily run out for eight to start another slide.

In the following over, Shoaib Malek was caught by Taylor off Lochie Ferguson for three and seven balls later part-timer Colin Munro bowled Shadab Khan for without scoring and Pakistan were 16 for six in the 15th over.

With light drizzle falling, but not strong enough to send the players off the field, Faheem Ashraf gave Pakistan supporters something to cheer about when he top-edged Lochie Ferguson for six.

But on 10 Faheem was gone hooking Ferguson to Todd Astle at fine leg, before Boult came back to claim Amir and Rumman to end the innings.

Pakistan came to New Zealand on a nine-match winning streak and the promise of providing a more formidable opposition for New Zealand who had just swept a series against the West Indies.

After losing the first two matches they arrived in Dunedin needing to win and had their tails up when Munro went for eight in the second over.

But half-centuries to Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor plus 45 for Martin Guptill set New Zealand up.

Williamson never looked particularly fluent but reached 73 off 101 deliveries while Taylor made 52 off 64 deliveries.

Pakistan did look smart in the field and finished with a flourish taking seven wickets for 48 in the last eight overs.



New Zealand (1st innings)

Martin Guptill Run Out Sarfraz Ahmed 45

Colin Munro c Sarfraz Ahmed b Faheem Ashraf 8

Kane Williamson c Mohammad Hafeez b Rumman Raees 73

Ross Taylor lbw Shadab Khan 52

Tom Latham c Shoaib Malik b Rumman Raees 35

Henry Nicholls c & b Shadab Khan 0

Mitchell Santner b Hasan Ali 6

Todd Astle c Fakhar Zaman b Rumman Raees 5

Tim Southee b Hasan Ali 6

Lockie Ferguson Not Out 6

Trent Boult b Hasan Ali 13

Extras 0b 2lb 2nb 0pen 4w 8

Total (50.0 overs) 257 all out Fall of Wickets: 1-15 Munro, 2-84 Guptill, 3-158 Williamson, 4-209 Taylor, 5-209 Nicholls, 6-226 Santner, 7-226 Latham, 8-233 Astle, 9-239 Southee, 10-257 Boult

Bowling Ov Md Rn Wk Econ Ex

Mohammad Amir 8 1 34 0 4.25 2w 1nb

Faheem Ashraf 6 1 29 1 4.83

Rumman Raees 10 0 51 3 5.10 1w 1nb

Hasan Ali 10 0 59 3 5.90 1w

Shadab Khan 10 0 51 2 5.10

Shoaib Malik 6 0 31 0 5.17

Pakistan (1st innings)

Azhar Ali c Ross Taylor b Trent Boult 0

Fakhar Zaman b Trent Boult 2

Babar Azam Run Out Mitchell Santner 8

Mohammad Hafeez c Ross Taylor b Trent Boult 0

Shoaib Malik c Ross Taylor b Lockie Ferguson 3

Sarfraz Ahmed Not Out 14

Shadab Khan b Colin Munro 0

Faheem Ashraf c Todd Astle b Lockie Ferguson 10

Hasan Ali c Kane Williamson b Colin Munro 1

Mohammad Amir b Trent Boult 14

Rumman Raees b Trent Boult 16

Extras 0b 0lb 0nb 0pen 6w 6

Total (27.2 overs) 74 all out

Fall of Wickets: 1-1 Ali, 2-2 Zaman, 3-2 Hafeez, 4-13 Azam, 5-15 Malik, 6-16 Khan, 7-30 Ashraf, 8-32 Ali, 9-52 Amir, 10-74 Khan

Bowling Ov Md Rn Wk Econ Ex

Tim Southee 7 3 19 0 2.71 1w

Trent Boult 7.2 1 17 5 2.32 1w

Colin Munro 7 1 10 2 1.43

Lockie Ferguson 6 0 28 2 4.67 3w


Juan Martin Del Potro holds the championship trophy after defeating Roger Federer (not pictured) in the men's finals in the BNP Paribas Open at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden.