Classifieds powered by Gulf News

Interface tame Alubond Tigers

They beat their rivals by five wickets in 5th Al Dhaid Ramadan Cup tournament

Gulf News

Sharjah: Interface secured a comfortable five-wicket victory over Alubond Tigers in the 5th Al Dhaid Ramadan Cup tournament at the Al Dhaid Cricket Village organised by the Sharjah Cricket Council.

Put in to bat first, Alubond Tigers openers did a fine job adding 29 runs. Abdul Shakoor scored 23 from 22 balls consisting of single boundary and lone six, while Zakir Malik scored a 14-ball 10.

The progress was halted when Alubond Tigers lost a few quick wickets before Shahzad Malik gained control of the situation. His knock of 41 from as many balls including three boundaries and a six put Alubond Tigers in a better position.

Despite the wickets kept falling, small contributions from lower order batsmen propelled Alubond Tigers to reach a challenging 126 all out in 19.5 overs.

For Interface, Nashwan Nasir, who earned the man of the match, claimed three wickets in his four overs conceding only 17 runs.

Interface openers Salman Baber and skipper Khaitan showed the urgency to reach the target as they smashed 64 runs for the first wicket in 10 overs.

While Baber smashed two sixes and as many boundaries to fire a 32-ball 35, Khaitan scored a steady 35 from 37 deliveries peppered with four boundaries.

With a strong foundation laid, Bilal Irshad (14), Fawad Tariq (21 not out) and Ramveer Rai (18) contributed as Interface overhauled the target in 16.2 overs.

Zakir Malik was the pick of the bowlers, claiming two wickets for Alubond Tigers.



Interface bt Alubond Tigers bt five wickets. Alubond Tigers: 126 all out in 19.5 overs (Abdul Shakoor 23, Zakir Malik 10, Shahzad Malik 41, Mohammad Azam 12, Nazir Aziz 10; Nashwan Nasir 3 for 17). Interface: 129 for five in 19.5 overs (Salman Baber 35, Nalin Khaitan 35, Bilal Arshad 14, Fawad Tariq 21 not out, Ramveer Rai 18; Zakir Malik 2 for 40). Man of the match: Nashwan Nasir. Umpires: Ifthikar Ali and Amjad Kiyani. Scorers: Zameel Hameed and Mohammad Asif.