India took four England wickets before lunch in the second Test
India have named their Test squad for England Image Credit: BCCI

Dubai: A 20-member squad was named for the tour of England that includes the World Test Championship final as well as five Test matches. There are four standby players besides the 20 players named.

India’s first stop will be in Southampton where they play New Zealand to decide the first world champions of the Test format. Following their 3-1 win against England at home, India finished as the No. 1 side with 72.2 percentage points and booked their place in the final. While the main squad is very familiar — with KL Rahul and Wriddhiman Saha awaiting fitness clearance — Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla are on the standby list.

India squad

Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, MD Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha. Stand-by players: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla