Team India pose with the trophy after winning the second Test against West Indies in Hyderabad. Image Credit: AFP

Hyderabad: India beat West Indies by 10 wickets in the second and final Test to complete a 2-0 series sweep in Hyderabad on Sunday.

Chasing a paltry 72 to win, openers Prithvi Shaw and Lokesh Rahul reached their target in the 17th over to seal India’s second successive victory in three days.

The hosts had won the first Test in Rajkot by an innings and 272 runs, their biggest Test victory.


West Indies (1st innings) 311

India (1st innings (Overnight 308-4)

A. Rahane c Hope b Holder 80

R. Pant c Hetmyer b Gabriel 92

R. Jadeja lbw b Holder 0

R. Ashwin b Gabriel 35

K. Yadav b Holder 6

U. Yadav c sub (J Hamilton) b Warrican 2

S. Thakur not out 4

Extras (b12, lb2, nb5) 19

Total (all out, 106.4 overs) 367

Fall of wickets: 5-314 (Rahane), 6-314 (Jadeja), 7-322 (Pant), 8-334 (K. Yadav), 9-339 (U. Yadav), 10-367 (Ashwin)

Bowling: Gabriel 20.4-1-107-3 (nb3), Holder 23-5-56-5 (nb2), Warrican 31-7-84-2, Chase 9-1-22-0, Bishoo 21-4-78-0, Brathwaite 2-0-6-0

West Indies (second innings)

K. Brathwaite c Pant b U. Yadav 0

K. Powell c Rahane b Ashwin 0

S. Hope c Rahane b Jadeja 28

S. Hetmyer c Kohli b K. Yadav 17

S. Ambris lbw b Jadeja 38

R. Chase b U. Yadav 6

S. Dowrich b U. Yadav 0

J. Holder c Pant b Jadeja 19

D Bishoo not out 10

J. Warrican b Ashwin 7

S. Gabriel b U. Yadav 1

Extras (lb1) 1

Total (all out, 46.1 overs) 127

Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Brathwaite), 2-6 (Powell), 3-45 (Hetmyer), 4-45 (Hope), 5-68 (Chase), 6-70 (Dowrich), 7-108 (Holder), 8-109 (Ambris), 9-126 (Warrican), 10-127 (Gabriel)

Bowling: Umesh 12.1-3-45-4, Ashwin 10-4-24-2, Kuldeep 13-1-45-1, Jadeja 11-5-12-3

India (2nd innings)

L. Rahul not out 33

P. Shaw not out 33

Extras (b6, lb2, nb1) 9

Total (0 wickets, 16.1 overs) 75

Bowling: Holder 4-0-17-0 (nb1), Warrican 4-0-17-0, Bishoo 4.1-0-19-0, Chase 4-0-14-0

Toss: West Indies

Result: India won by 10 wickets

Series: India won the series 2-0

Umpires: Bruce Oxenford (AUS) and Ian Gould (ENG)

TV umpire: Nigel Llong (ENG)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)