Classifieds powered by Gulf News

Showjumping joy for Jordan and Egypt clubs in Sharjah

Big prizes for world-class winners at Arab Women Sports Tournament

Gulf News

Sharjah: Jordanian and Egyptian clubs gave the crowds at the Arab Women Sports Tournament (AWST) a treat with a superb range of riding skills in the show jumping events to clinch gold medals in individual and team competitions.

The Intro Show jumping competition, with fence heights of 90-100cm, worth a total of Dh50,000 prize money, was fiercely contested by 20 riders, 12 of whom reached the final. Riding her horse Kissinger, Lian Al Momani from Jordan’s Arabian Horse Club finished first in 33.008 seconds, winning the gold medal and a cash prize of Dh12,500.

Emirati rider Methaq Al Hajiri, riding Belize, finished second with a time of 35s, winning silver and Dh10,000. Another Emirati, Kenna Al Hashimi, came third on her mount Kambiana completing the course in 35.026s, taking home Dh7,500.

Eleven top Arab riders competed in the Grand Prix event, with fences 120-125cm, worth a total of Dh75,000 prize money. Ten jockeys reached the differentiation round, with Egyptian Farah Mustafa and Kwabitola taking first place with a time of 39.01s. She was awarded the gold medal Dh20,625. Just two seconds adrift was Jordanian Olympic rider Sara Al Armouti on Tokyo. On her horse Dogara, Emirati rider Iman Al Muhairi finished third in 41.03.

Champion equestrians from Jordan’s Arabian Horse Club won the gold medal in the team showjumping competition, followed by Sharjah Sports Women’s Club, who came in second place and the horse riders of Sharjah Equestrian and Racing Club, who secured bronze.

The winners of the individual, team showjumping and the Grand Prix were awarded their medals and trophies by Shaikh Khalid Bin Ahmad Al Qasimi, Head of AWST’s Supreme Organising Committee, accompanied by Shaikha Hayat Bint Abdul Aziz Al Khalifa, Head of the AWST Supervisory Committee and member of Bahraini Olympic Committee, Abdul Latif Al Hammadi, Director of Etisalat’s Public Relations, Dr Abdul Aziz Al Muhairi, Secretary General of the National Anti-Doping Committee, Sultan Al Yahyae, General Manager of the Sharjah Equestrian and Racing Club, and Nada Askar Al Naqbi, Deputy Chairperson of AWST’s Supreme organising Committee and Director General of SWSF.


Juan Martin Del Potro holds the championship trophy after defeating Roger Federer (not pictured) in the men's finals in the BNP Paribas Open at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden.