Second and third-place winners of the 120km Emirates Championship endurance ride, Musab Saleh Al Marzouqi (right) and Mag Singh Chain Singh at Al Wathba Endurance Village yesterday. Image Credit: Ahmed Kutty, Gulf News

Abu Dhabi : Ali Khalfan Al Jahouri came up with fine exhibition of skilful endurance riding to win the Emirates Championship at the Emirates International Endurance Village in Al Wathba, Abu Dhabi yesterday.

Riding the 12-year-old gelding Berlioz De Piboul, owned by the Al Wathba Stables, Al Jahouri completed the gruelling 120-km ride in a time of 4 hours and 41.44 minutes.

A strong field took part in the CEI 2* ride which divided into five stages of 32 kms, 28 kms, 24 kms, 20 kms and 16 kms each.

The ride was sponsored by SAS Investments.

Al Jahouri, a vastly experienced endurance rider averaged a speed of 25.56 kmph.

Musab Saleh Al Marzouqi, riding the nine-year-old gelding Tidjaso finished second in a time of 4.43.57. Tidjaso is owned by Shaikh Ahmad Bin Humaid Al Nuaimi.

India's Mag Singh Chain Singh, riding Yentl Raban, finished third in 4:44.00. Yentl Raban is owned by Al Wathba Stables.

Uruguay's Carlos Enrique Lopez Morales on CAL Caushah took fourth place with a time of 4.49.26 while Emirati Omar Rashid Obaid Al Jarwan clocked 4:49.28 to place fifth aboard Hamaasy.

"This was my third ride of the season. In the previous two rides I finished 10th and 5th respectively. Now I was third time lucky," said a delighted Al Jahouri,

Showing the way

"From the third loop onwards I was sure I was going to win as many of the good horses in the ride were eliminated when the ride reached this stage.

"My policy was to maintain a steady speed and win the race and I succeeded in doing so.

"Though I have won many races including the National Day Cup three times, this win is special to me as it is my first win of the season," he added.

"Berlioz De Piboul is a good horse and he has also won many a races. But this i his first win of the season. Since we have other good horses, we will give him rest for some time before preparing him for the next ride."

Nafez Aabara, project manager of SAS Investment and Hamad Al Ketbi, public relations manager of SAS Investment, Adnan Sultan Al Nuaimi, director general of Abu Dhabi Equestrian Club and Lara Sawaya, managing director of Tasweeq, presented the winners with their trophies.

Top Five:

1. Ali Khalfan Al Jahouri (Berlioz De Piboul) 4 Hourse 41.44 Minutes - Winner owned by Al Wathba Stables);

2. Musab Saleh Al Marzouqi (Tidjoso) 04.43.57 - Winner owned by Shaikh Ahmad Bin Humaid Al Nuaimi;

3. Mag Singh Chain Singh (Yentl Raban) 04:44.00 4:44.00 - Winner owned by Al Wathab Stables;

4. Carlos Enrique Lopez Morales (CAL Caushah) 04.49.26 - Winner owned by Shaikh Sultan Bin Zayed Al Nahyan

5. Omar Rashid Obaid Al Jarwan (Hamaasy) 04:49.28 - Winner owned by Shaikh Rashid Bin Hamdan Al Maktoum)