Muscat: The hunger strike by 23 activists continued contrary to statements given during a radio show on Wednesday, Gulf News was informed by Khawla Bint Salem Al Hashmi, wife of writer and human rights activists, Saeed Al Hashmi, who is also on hunger strike.

“It is a lie, they never broke fast and as of now hunger strike continues,” she reiterated.

She also revealed that, contrary to earlier claims, Al Hashmi was not taken straight to the high-security Central Prison in Sumayil from the Royal Hospital. “Initially we had no idea where he was but then we came to know that he was at the Royal Oman Police Headquarters in Qurum,” she said.

Khawala and Saeed’s brother then paid a visit to the detained activist at the headquarters. “We saw him but could not talk so we kind of screamed and asked him if he was still not eating and he confirmed that his fast continued,” she revealed.

Later on Wednesday, Al Hashmi was moved to the Central Prison in Sumayil. “I can confirm that he is back in Sumayil prison but I am not sure if he is in solitary confinement or lodged with the other activists,” Khawala Al Hashmi added.

Jihad Bin Abdullah Bin Mohammad Al Taei, President of the Bar Association and member of the National Human Rights Commission (NHRC), said during a live programme on Al Wisal radio that Al Hashmi and other activists had agreed to end the fast.

Meanwhile, six of the commission’s members have been replaced, including the Vice-President, for a three-year-term.

Sultan Qaboos Bin Saeed on Wednesday issued a Royal Decree reappointing Mohammad Bin Abdullah Bin Masoud Al Riyami as the President for another three-year-term.

Oman Journalists Association Chairman Awadh Bin Saeed Bin Ali BaQuwair is among the new inductees. Amer Bin Hamad Bin Mohammad Al Hajri has replaced Ali Salim Masood Al Mamari as the Vice-President of the NHRC.

Ahamd Bin Saif Bin Ahmad Al Barwani, Majidah Bint Shekhan Bin Majid Al Maamari, Dr Nasser Bin Saif Bin Nasser Al Shamsi and Dr Mohammad Bin Sulaiman Bin Abdullah Al Rashdi are the newly appointed members of the NHRC.

Besides the President, those retained in the 14-member NHRC committee are Hussain Jawad Mohammad Abdulrasool, Saud Ali Abdullah Al Jabri, Jihad Abdullah Mohammad Al Taie, Shaikh Muhanna Saleh Saud Al Mawali, Fahad Ahmad Hamad Al Jabri, Saad Suhail Bahwan and Zakiya Hamdan Rashid Al Farsi

The outgoing members are Dr Rashid Hamad Humaid Al Balushi, Jehan Abdullah Mohammad Al Lamki, Diena Hamzah Abdullah Al Asfoor, Shaikh Sultan Matar Salim Al Azizi and Saleh Ayael Khamis Al Amiri.