Picture for illustrative purposes only Image Credit: Gulf News Archive

After an announcement made by the Canadian government on Monday night, the total number of countries that offer visa-free entry to UAE nationals has gone up to 155. Last month, the 2018 Henley Passport Index ranked the UAE passport as the 23rd most powerful in the world in all categories. According to the index, the global ranking of the UAE passport is 17 in terms of travel access and only 50 countries require a pre-approved entry visa before arrival for UAE nationals.

Over a 10-year period, the UAE passport has jumped by 38 places, the biggest historical climb of any passport in the world, according to the creators of the Henley Passport Index.

The UAE passport also remains the most powerful in the Gulf region.

Read: Visa-free countries for Indian passport holders

“The UAE’s success is linked to the fact that, between 1999 and 2018, visa restrictions on Emirati citizens have been lifted by countries such as New Zealand, Argentina, Chile, Ukraine and China, as well as by those in Europe’s Schengen area,” Henley & Partners said at the time of releasing its annual report in January.

Read: Visa-free countries for Philippines passport holders

Below is a list of countries that allow visa-free access to travellers with a UAE passport; these do not include countries with an e-visa requirement or visa on arrival procedure. 

Albania Latvia
Andorra Lebanon
Antigua and Barbuda Liechtenstein
Argentina Lithuania
Armenia Luxembourg
Austria Macedonia
Bahamas Malaysia
Bahrain Mali
Belarus Malta
Belgium Mauritius
Bosnia and Herzegovina Micronesia
Botswana Moldova
Brunei Monaco
Bulgaria Montenegro
Burkina Faso Morocco
Canada Nauru
Chad Netherlands
Chile New Zealand
China Nicaragua
Colombia Norway 
Costa Rica Oman
Croatia Palestinian territories
Cyprus Panama
Czech Republic Philippines
Denmark Poland
Dominica Portugal
Dominican Republic Romania
Ecuador Saint Kitts and Nevis
Egypt Saint Lucia
El Salvador San Marino
Estonia Sao Tome and Principe
Fiji Saudi Arabia
Finland Senegal
France Serbia
Gambia Seychelles
Georgia Singapore
Germany Slovakia
Greece Slovenia
Grenada Solomon Islands
Guatemala South Korea
Haiti Spain
Honduras St Vincent and the Grenadines
Hong Kong Sudan
Hungary Swaziland
Iceland Sweden
Indonesia Switzerland
Ireland Syria
Italy Thailand
Jordan Tonga
Kazakhstan Tunisia
Kosovo Ukraine
Kuwait Uruguay
Kyrgyzstan Vanuatu
  Vatican City