Classifieds powered by Gulf News

Heroit University win Inter-Collegiate title

Suri cracks unbeaten half century to trounce Amity in final

Gulf News

Ajman: Chirag Suri, the UAE cricket team player and prolific scorer in inter-collegiate tournaments cracked an unbeaten 50 to help Heriot Watt University emerge as the champions of the Ramada Gulf Cup Inter University T20 tournament. In the final, Heriot trounced Amity University by nine wickets to stamp their supremacy in UAE’s inter-collegiate tournaments.

Speaking to Gulf News, Suri said: “I always try to give my best, be it any match or any tournament. Happy to have guided my university to another victory.”

This tournament held under the aegis of the Ajman Cricket Council at the Young Talents Cricket Academy (YTCA) and Durham Cricket Academy ground saw many budding cricketers give their best. Amity, who batted first, were bundled out for 102 runs. The destroyers of Amity’s innings were Heriot’s bowling duo of Muqeet Butt (3 for 19) and S. Ronak (2 for 21). Omer Mohammad top scored with 24 runs. Chasing the moderate total, Suri went for his shots. Adnan Khan gave good support with 26 runs. Former UAE Under-19 team captain Rohit Singh remained unbeaten on 20 as Heriot sailed past the target.

Sharjah Cricket Council’s Al Dhaid Gold Cup 40-over tournament has been throwing up exciting cricket contests with top teams like Ibsons Cricket Club and Interface Transworld.

Ibsons showed the strength of their batting line up at the Al Dhaid cricket village by chasing a target of 195 to win with eight overs to spare. The experienced Babar Malek gave Ibsons a steady start despite the fall of an early wicket. He missed a well-deserved half century remaining unbeaten on 48 from 56 deliveries with five boundaries and a six. Omair Shaukat cracked 55 from 52 with three boundaries and seven sixes. Shehzad Malik (48) and Fayaz Ahmad (33) ensured victory. Multiplex had posted 194 for 9 through Mohammad Yasir’s 64 and Abdul Shakoor’s 42 runs.

In another match, Vinod Randa and Nashwan Nasir bowled deadly spells to guide Interface Transworld to a six-wicket win over Cost Cutter CC. Put in to bat, Cost Cutter could only manage 17 runs off the first five overs. Farrukh Qasmi hit 20 but wickets fell at regular intervals. It was No. 11 batsman Mohammad Yastoor who managed to score 11 runs that helped Cost Cutter cross the three-digit mark as they were shot out for a meagre 106 runs in 30 overs.

Nashwan gave away only 14 runs in his 6.3 overs picking three wickets while Vinod also took three wickets for 17 runs in his eight overs. Chasing an easy target, Salman Babbar began with a bang hammering 18 runs off just six deliveries including two boundaries. Farhan Babbar and Bilal Irshad through a 84-run partnership guided Interface to a six-wicket victory in the 13th over.

Brief scores:

Inter University T20: Heriot Watt bt Amity University by 9 wkts. Amity University: 102 in 20 overs (Omer Mohammad 24, Muqeet Butt 3 for 19, S. Ronak 2 for 21). Heriot Watt: 104 for 1 (Adnan Khan 26, Chirag Suri 50n.o, Rohit Singh 20 not out).

Al Dhaid Gold Cup: Ibsons CC bt Multiplex International by six wickets. Multiplex: 194 for nine in 40 overs (Ali Zeeshan 13, Irfan Zafar 12, Abdul Shakoor 42, Mohammad Yasir 64, Obaid Ullah 14, Imran Haider 12 not out, Naqash Basharah 12; Misbah Khan 3 for 38, Kamran Shehzad 3 for 32). Ibsons CC: 195 for four in 31.5 overs (Babar Malik 48n.o, Omair Shaukat 55, Shehzad Malik 48, Fayaz Ahmad 33; Imran Haider 2 for 57).

Interface Transworld bt Cost Cutter CC by six wickets. Cost Cutter: 106 in 30 overs (Farrukh Qasmi 20, Nashwan Nasir 3 for 14, Vinod Randa 3 for 17). Interface Transworld: 107 for 4 in 13.2 overs (Farhan Babbar 38, Bilal Irshad 39; Muhammad Yastoor 2 for 24). Man of the match: Nashwan Nasir.

Unicon Realestate bt YTCA by six wickets. YTCA: 149 in 37.4 overs (Fahad Nawaz 41, Nazim 29, Naseeb Khan 3 for 21, Akhtar Balooch 3 for 34). Unicon Realestate: 152 for 4 in 22.4 overs (Abdullah Pasha 21, Saifullah 46n.o, Zulfiqar Imran 28n.o; Shahzad 2 for 36). Man of the match: Naseeb Khan.