Indian Golfers Society’s ‘Race to Scotland’ winner Gaurav Verma with Gaurav Sabbarwal and Antoin Breen, both of Chivas, at Emirates Golf Club. Image Credit: Courtesy:Organiser

Dubai: Gaurav Verma beat Ashok Kumar on a countback to win the Indian Golfer Society’s season-long ‘Race to Scotland’ at Emirates Golf Club over the weekend.

Both finished on 39 points apiece and won an all expenses paid golfing trip to Scotland, courtesy of sponsors Chivas.

Bipin Bhatia won the Chivas Cup after finishing on 36 points ahead of Himanshu Ghandi in second and Subash Bawker in third. The latter two both finished on 35 points but were separated on a countback.

Meanwhile, Swati Singh won the ladies division on 33 points.

Elsewhere, Chandru Manghnani got a hole in one on the par three 11th hole with a six-iron for only the second ace of his career, and Suresh Shewakramani just missed out on winning a Bentley on the seventh hole after his effort for ace fell six inches short.

Manghnani and Shewakramani won nearest the pin mentions for those shots along with Antony Avinash Louis and Aqeel Hemraj, who came close on the respective fourth and 15th holes; and Jai Dawda and Shane O’Neill took longest drive honours on holes six and 12th respectively.