The Abu Dhabi International Marine Sports Club (ADIMSC) will host the first round of the UAE Powerboats class III championship, under the patronage of Dr Shaikh Sultan Bin Khalifa Al Nahyan, Chairman of Abu Dhabi Crown Prince's Court and the president of the club.

A total of 20 boats and 40 pilots will take part in the first of four rounds of the championship which will be held in Abu Dhabi and Dubai. The pilots represent the UAE, Kuwait, Finland, Bangladesh, Lebanon, Britain, Egypt, Spain, France and Italy.

The race track will be around Lulu Island, facing the capital's Corniche.

The technical committee of the race will check the boats today before the official practice which will start at 10.30am. The main race will be held tomorrow from 3pm. The race will feature the return of Awad Gamran Al Qubaisi, former member of the UAE Formula I Team, with his teammate and co-driver Thani Al Qamzy representing the UAE in addition to their countrymen Rashid Jabir Al Hamly, Ahmad Ali Al Hamly, Rashid Al Merri, Salim Fadhil Al Hamly, Rashid Awad Al Hamly and Mohammad Hamad Al Hamly.