Sport - Golf
The Els Club Desaru Coast Malaysia Image Credit: The Els Club Desaru Coast

The MENA Tour has announced a new three-event swing in Southeast Asia.

First up are back-to-back events in Malaysia. The ‘Malaysian Swing I’ at The Els Club, Desaru Coast from 11th – 13th April. Followed up by the ‘Malaysian Swing II’ at the same venue with both events of field sizes of 144 players and prize pots of $75,000 USD.

Just a short hop north across the Gulf of Thailand for their final event, the ‘Royal Hua Hin Thailand Championship 2023 by MENA Tour’ set to be hosted by Royal Hua Hin Golf Course. The oldest 18-hole international standard course in Thailand.

Players announced in the field so far for ‘Malaysian Swing I’ are Ben Jones and Brandon Robinson Thompson, both winners in Egypt on the MENA Tour earlier this season.

Sport - Golf - Ben Jones
Ben Jones from England, winner of Egyptian Swing Event 1 on the MENA Tour Image Credit: MENA Tour

Launched in 2011, the MENA Tour delivers 54-hole events primarily across the Middle East, North Africa and Asia, and currently provides a pathway for players into the Asian Tour and Asian Development Tour, while last October it announced a strategic alliance which will result in LIV Golf Invitational events becoming part of and sanctioned by the MENA Tour.

Within the last six months, the MENA Tour has had seven global events. The LIV Golf Invitational Bangkok, LIV Golf Invitational Jeddah, a two event swing in Saudi Arabia, followed by two further events in Egypt and finally LIV Golf Mayakoba.

Sport - Golf - Brandon Robinson Thompson
MENA Tour Egyptian Swing 2 Winner Brandon Robinson Thompson Image Credit: MENA Tour

One event remains before the new Southeast Asia swing kicks off, as starting this week is the LIV Golf Tucson with a prize fund of $20 million USD.

Currently leading the Order of Merit on the MENA Tour is Charles Howell III having earnt $4,812,500, while less than $100,000 behind him is four-time major champion Brooks Koepka.

Sport - Golf
Charles Howell III winner of LIV Mayakoba with his team Crushers GC Image Credit: Twitter @livgolf_league