Classifieds powered by Gulf News

Proteas pile on the agony on Bangladesh again

Skipper Du Plessis runs riot before retiring hurt

Gulf News

East London, South Africa: South Africa beat Bangladesh by 200 runs in the third One Day International at Buffalo Park on Sunday.

Faf du Plessis top scored with 91 for the South Africans before retiring hurt as they posted 369 for six, their highest one-day total against Bangladesh and the highest total at the ground.

Bangladesh were then bowled out for 169 in reply despite 63 from Shakib Al Hasan as South Africa secured a 3-0 victory in the three-match series.

Du Plessis looked set for a ninth one-day international century before he suffered what a team official described as an acute lower back strain while running between wickets. The injury ruled him out of the rest of the match. He hit ten fours and a six.

Temba Bavuma, one of three changes in South Africa’s top seven in the batting order, made 48 and helped Quinton de Kock (73) put on 119 for the first wicket, while new cap Aiden Markram hit 66 as he and Du Plessis added 151 off 116 balls for the third wicket before Du Plessis retired hurt.

As in his Test debut, when he made 97 against the same opponents last month, Markram’s innings was ended by a run-out. Markram hit four fours and two sixes in an impressive 60-ball innings.

South Africa

T. Bavuma c Liton Das b Mehedi Hasan 48

Q. de Kock c and b Mehedi Hasan 73

F. du Plessis retired hurt 91

A. Markram run out (Imrul Kayes) 66

A. de Villiers c Mashrafe Mortaza b Rubel Hossain 20

F. Behardien not out 33

W. Mulder lbw b Taskin Ahmed 2

A. Phehlukwayo c Mushfiqur Rahim b Taskin Ahmed 5

K. Rabada not out 23

Extras (lb3, w5) 8

Total (6 wkts, 50 overs) 369

Fall of wickets: 1-119 (Bavuma), 2-132 (De Kock), 3-289 (Markram), 4-325 (De Villiers), 5-329 (Mulder), 6-335 (Phehlukwayo)

Bowling: Mashrafe Mortaza 9-0-69-0 (1w), Mehedi Hasan 10-0-59-2, Rubel Hossain 10-0-75-1, Shakib Al Hasan 10-0-56-0 (2w), Taskin Ahmed 7-0-66-2 (1w), Mahmudullah 3-0-33-0 (1w), Sabbir Rahman 1-0-8-0

Did not bat: D. Paterson, Imran Tahir


Imrul Kayes c Behardien b Paterson 1

Soumya Sarkar c Markram b Rabada 8

Liton Das lbw b Paterson 6

Mushfiqur Rahim c Rabada b Phehlukwayo 8

Shakib Al Hasan c sub b Markram 63

Mahmudullah lbw b Mulder 2

Sabbir Rahman c de Kock b Markram 39

Mehidy Hasan c de Villiers b Tahir 15

Mashrafe Mortaza c de Kock b Paterson 17

Taskin Ahmed c sub b Tahir 2

Rubel Hossain not out 0

Extras (b-1 lb-1 nb-1 w-5) 8

Total (all out, 40.4 overs) 169

Fall of wickets: 1-3 I. Kayes, 2-15 L. Das, 3-20 S. Sarkar, 4-51 M. Rahim, 5-61 Mahmudullah, 6-128 S. Al Hasan, 7-135 Sa. Rahman, 8-163 M. Mortaza, 9-169 T. Ahmed, 10-169 M. Hasan.

Bowling K. Rabada 8 — 1 — 33 — 1 (w-2) D. Paterson 9 — 0 — 44 — 3 (w-1) W. Mulder 8 — 0 — 32 — 1 (nb-1 w-1) A. Phehlukwayo 4 — 1 — 13 — 1 I. Tahir 8.4 — 1 — 27 — 2 (w-1) A. Markram 3 — 0 — 18 — 2.