Dubai: Australian opener D’Arcy Short got run out for two in a controversial manner in their second T20 game against Pakistan, with replays showing the batsman had grounded the bat but was given out by television umpire Riaz Rashid.

Short was at the non-striker’s end when spinner Imad Wasim got a finger to a return shot from Aaron Finch that ricocheted into the stumps. It was hugely debated after the match.

Asked for his comment, Glenn Maxwell said: “We certainly had a view as a team that we thought his bat was clearly grounded behind the line. Maybe the third umpire pressed the wrong button. We’ve all make mistakes. As we probably saw it in the change rooms, there wasn’t really any doubt. I think if you even look at the way he’s holding his bat, it’s very hard to hold it above the line with the bat sitting out of his gloves.”

However, Pakistan skipper Sarfraz Ahmad said: “I don’t know why so much controversy over it. It is a clear case of bat being not on the ground. However, it is an umpire and referee’s call.”