Bengaluru: India captain Virat Kohli on Tuesday received the Polly Umrigar Award for being the best international cricketer for the 2016-17 and 2017-18 seasons at the annual BCCI awards.

Kohli had a brilliant 2016-17 season as he went on to score 1,332 runs in 13 games with an average of 74. In the limited overs format, the star batsman amassed 1,516 runs in 27 games at a 84.22 average.

In 2017-18, Kohli scored 896 runs at an average of 89.6 in six Test matches while in ODIs he averaged 75. Smriti Mandhana was named the international Cricketer of the Year 2017-18 in the women’s category while Harmanpreet Kaur received the Player of the Year for her phenomenal performances in the 2016-17 season.

Apart from international cricketers, domestic players too were honoured. Jalaj Saxena, Parvez Rasool, Krunal Pandya were all awarded for their brilliant performances in the domestic circuit. Jalaj and Rasool were adjudged ‘Best All Rounders’ in Ranji Trophy while Krunal was rewarded for his performance in the Hazare one-day championship.