Classifieds powered by Gulf News

Record-breaker Kohli leads India to another easy win over South Africa

India strode to a comfortable win at Centurion as they reached their victory target with 107 balls to spare

Image Credit: AP
Indian batsman Captain Virat Kohli celebrates after getting his 100 runs during the fourth ODI cricket match between South Africa and India in Pretoria, South Africa

CENTURION:  Virat Kohli led India to a 5-1 series hammering of South Africa on Friday, scoring 129 not out in an eight-wicket win in the sixth and final one-day international.

Kohli's 129 came off just 96 balls, and he reached his century off 82 balls, as India strolled to 206-2 and past South Africa's 204 all out.

India had 107 balls to spare, another supremely dominant win for the tourists who became the first team since Australia in 2002 to win five ODI games in a series in South Africa.

India's win was another emphatic statement of its ODI quality. It displaced South Africa as No. 1 in the ODI rankings in this series.

India had already won the series with a 4-1 lead heading to the final game at SuperSport Park but that didn't affect its ambition.

Seamer Shardul Thakur took 4-52 in his first game on tour as South Africa's batsmen were again bundled out cheaply. Only Khaya Zondo's 54, his maiden ODI half-century, was of any significance for South Africa.


South Africa v India scoreboard

South Africa

A. Markram c Iyer b Thakur  24

H. Amla c Dhoni b Thakur  10

A. de Villiers b Chahal  30

K. Zondo c Pandya b Chahal  54

H. Klaasen c Kohli b Bumrah  22

F. Behardien c Bumrah b Thakur 1

C. Morris c Dhawan b Kuldeep Yadav 4

A. Phehlukwayo c and b Thakur 34

M. Morkel c Iyer b Pandya  20

Imran Tahir c Kohli b Bumrah  2

L. Ngidi not out   0

Extras (w3)   3

Total (46.5 overs)  204

Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Amla), 2-43 (Markram), 3-105 (De Villiers), 4-135 (Klaasen), 5-136 (Behardien), 6-142 (Morris), 7-151 (Zondo), 8-187 (Morkel), 9-192 (Tahir)

Bowling: Thakur 8.5-0-52-4 (3w), Bumrah 8-1-24-2, Pandya 10-0-39-1, Kuldeep Yadav 10-0-51-1, Chahal 10-0-38-2


S. Dhawan c Zondo b Ngidi  18

R. Sharma c Klaasen b Ngidi  15

V. Kohli not out   129

A. Rahane not out   34

Extras (b4, lb1, w5)  10

Total (2 wkts, 32.1 overs)  206

Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Sharma), 2-80 (Dhawan)

Bowling: Morkel 7-0-42-0 (2w), Ngidi 8-1-54-2 (3w), Morris 6-0-36-0, Phehlukwayo 4-0-27-0, Imran Tahir 7.1-0-42-0

Did not bat: S. Iyer, H. Pandya, M. Dhoni, Kuldeep Yadav, S. Thakur, J. Bumrah, Y. Chahal

Result: India win by eight wickets

Series: India win the six-match series 5-1

Toss: India