Ravichandran Ashwin
India’s Ravichandran Ashwin (R) celebrates with teammates after taking the wicket of Bangladesh's Nazmul Hasan Santo during the first day of the second Test at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka on December 22, 2022. Image Credit: AFP

Dhaka: Umesh Yadav and Ravichandran Ashwin claimed four wickets apiece Thursday as India bowled out Bangladesh for 227 runs in their first innings of the second Test in Dhaka.

Mominul Haque top-scored with 84 but Bangladesh lost wickets at regular intervals to end their innings about an hour before stumps after electing to bat first.

India reached 19-0 before bad light forced an early end to the opening day, with six overs still to be played.

Stand-in India skipper KL Rahul was batting on three with Shubman Gill 14 not out at stumps.

Rahul was given out leg-before on three off Shakib in the final over of the day, but the decision was reversed after review.

Umesh earlier picked up 4-25 and Ashwin grabbed 4-71 as India stopped the hosts from building a significant partnership, despite several batsmen getting decent starts.

Mushfiqur Rahim (26), Liton Das (25) and Najmul Hossain (24) were all unable to lend Mominul an extended spell of support.

Mominul, playing his first match in the series, departed as the ninth wicket when he nicked Ashwin behind the stumps.

The left-hander hit 12 fours and a six to make his 16th Test fifty, also his first in the last seven Tests.

Ashwin ended the Bangladesh innings two balls later, with last man Khaled Ahmed giving a catch to Jaydev Unadkat at deep mid-wicket.

Fast bowler Unadkat, returning to Test cricket for the first time since his unremarkable 2010 debut against South Africa, impressed in the opening two sessions before finishing with 2-50.

Bangladesh had scored 184-5 at the tea break and crumbled in the final session when Umesh bowled an incisive spell to claim three successive wickets.

India won the first Test by 188 runs but are again without injured skipper Rohit Sharma, who was replaced by Rahul.

The visitors dropped left-arm spinner Kuldeep Yadav - who was named player of the match in the first Test for his eight wickets - and brought in paceman Unadkat.

Bangladesh made two changes, bringing in Taskin Ahmed for the injured Ebadot Hossain and Mominul for Yasir Ali.

Bangladesh first innings

Najmul Hossain lbw b Ashwin 24
Zakir Hasan c Rahul b Unadkat 15
Mominul Haque c Pant b Ashwin 84
Shakib Al Hasan c Pujara b Umesh 16
Mushfiqur Rahim c Pant b Unadkat 26
Liton Das c Rahul b Ashwin 25
Mehidy Hasan c Pant b Umesh 15
Nurul Hasan lbw b Umesh 6
Taskin Ahmed c Siraj b Umesh 1
Taijul Islam not out 4
Khaled Ahmed c Unadkat b Ashwin 0
Extras (b3, lb 7, w1) 11
Total (all out; 73.5 overs) 227

Fall of wickets: 1-39 (Zakir), 2-39 (Najmul), 3-82 (Shakib), 4-130 (Mushfiqur), 5-172 (Liton), 6-213 (Mehidy), 7-219 (Nurul), 8-223 (Taskin), 9-227 (Mominul), 10-227 (Khaled)

Bowling: Siraj 9-1-39-0, Umesh 15-4-25-4, Unadkat 16-2-50-2 (w1), Ashwin 21.5-3-71-4, Axar 12-3-32-0

India first innings

KL Rahul not out 3
Shubman Gill not out 14
Extras (nb2) 2
Total (no wickets; eight overs) 19

Yet to bat: Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jaydev Unadkat, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

Bowling: Taskin 4-2-8-0 (nb2), Shakib 4-2-11-0

Toss: Bangladesh
Umpires: Chris Brown (NZL), Sharfuddoula Saikat (BAN)
TV Umpire: Michael Gough (ENG)
Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)