Abu Dhabi: Tayyeb Ali hit a maiden century to guide Al Yasmina to their first win in the UAE Xchange U-14 Abu Dhabi Schools League.

The opener’s 68-ball innings of 129 not out helped his team post 239 for two and emerge winners by 144 runs over newcomers Bhavans in a Group B game at the Abu Dhabi Cricket Council’s Nursery Oval-1.

Ali hit 16 fours and shared a 213-run stand for the opening wicket with Haysam Shakeel, who chipped in with 62 highlighted with five boundaries, to set the platform for Al Yasmina.

Shakeel then took four wickets for nine runs in 3.2 overs while Omer Shakeel (3 for 16) and Ali (2-9) helped dismiss Bhavans for 99.

Bright Riders and Abu Dhabi Indian School opened their campaigns with resounding victories over Emirates Future International and Model respectively. Nikhil Menon and Utkarsh Srivastav took five wickets between them to restrict Emirates Future to 91 for seven, and Bright Riders knocked off the winning runs with four overs to spare in a Group A match.

Nooran Thakur smashed a quick-fire 36 not out as ADIS recovered from 87 for four in 12.3 overs to win with 2.3 overs to spare over Model in Group B.

Thakur’s 20-ball knock was highlighted by two hits for maximum over long on and two fours. He added 47 runs for the fifth wicket with Arran Fernandez (8 not out) without being separated.

Brief Scores: Al Yasmina 239 for two in 20 overs (Tayyeb Ali 129 not out, Haysam Shakeel 62) beat Bhavans 99 all out in 16.2 overs (Haysam Shakeel 4-9, Omer Shakeel 3-16, Tayyeb Ali 2-9) by 140 runs. Man of the Match: Tayyeb Ali of Al Yasmina.

Emirates Future International 91 for seven in 20 overs (Sagar Binu 39, Nikhil Menon 3-6, Utkarsh Srivastav 2-16) lost to Bright Riders 92 for four in 16 overs (Nimalan Babu 20, Utkarsh Srivastav 20) by four wickets. Man of the Match: Nikhil Menon of Bright Riders.

Model 131 for five in 20 overs (Abdul Hannan 37) lost to Abu Dhabi Indian School 134 for 4 in 17.3 overs (Nooran Thakur 36 not out, Zaid Sheikh 21, Sameer Vijay 2-31) by six wickets. Man of the Match: Nooran Thakur of ADIS.