Classifieds powered by Gulf News

Aiko Mobile lift Pakistan Day Cup

Newly branded team dominate seven-a-side tournaments

Gulf News

Dubai: Aiko Mobile team, formerly known as Massa Cricket team, won the 66th Pakistan Independence Day Cup tournament held at the Seven Seas Sport Club ground in Dubai Investment Park.

Massa team continued their winning run despite the change in their name and stopped Seven Seas by 13 runs in the final. This team has been dominating in tournaments held as part of the celebrations for India’s Independence Day and UAE’s National Day.

Speaking to Gulf News, Tariq Butt, the organiser of these tournaments for over 25 years, said: “Massa has made it a habit of winning these tournaments. They had won the India Independence Day Cup and UAE National Day Cup and have clinched a hat-trick.” This tournament was held under the auspices of the Dubai Cricket Council with sponsorship support from Atif Waheed of Golden Line and Freddy Sidhwa of Seven Seas.

Aiko has been specialists in seven-a-side format, which is followed in these tournaments. In the final, Aiko Mobiles scored 81 for 2 in the five overs and restricted Seven Seas to 68 for 2. The star players for Aiko were their batsmen Hazerat Hussain and Hasnain Raza who both hit 30 runs each.

Earlier, Aiko reached the final beating Careem Club by 61 runs while Seven Seas stopped Enoc by 45 in the semifinal.