Sharjah: A line-up of prominent Arab cultural personalities participating at the upcoming Sharjah International Book Fair (SIBF) was revealed on Saturday.

The participants include famous authors, artists, actors, intellectuals, journalists and poets, who will be joining the SIBF cultural activities.

The 36th edition of the annual SIBF, organised by Sharjah Book Authority (SBA), will be held from November 1 to 11 at Expo Centre Sharjah.

Among this year’s SIBF guests will be Syrian artist Ghassan Massoud, drama professor at the Higher Institute for Dramatic Arts in Damascus. Massoud’s performances in several historical series and films led Hollywood to describe him as “one of the Arab world’s finest actors”. His acting resume includes roles in ‘Pirates of the Caribbean’, among others.

SIBF 2017 will also play host to Algerian novelist Waciny Laredj, professor at the University of Algiers and the University of Paris III-New Sorbonne. He is a highly regarded novelist in the Arab world because of his ongoing quest to explore Algerian heritage.

Author of the ‘Al Ilyatha Al Filistiniah’ (The Palestinian Iliad), poet and novelist Ebrahim Nasrallah from Jordan will be taking part as well. Nasrallah’s literary achievements include novels ‘Zaman Al Khoyool Al Baidhaa’ (Time of White Horses) and ‘Qanadeel Malek Al Jaleel’, among others.

Saudi Arabian writer Abdo Khal, winner of the International Prize for Arabic Fiction 2010 (also known as the Arabic Booker) for his novel ‘Termee Bishar’ (Spewing Sparks as Big as Castles), will also be taking part in a number of cultural activities at the fair.

The list includes Lebanese poet, songstress and theatre performer Jahida Wehbe, who has achieved recognition for her varied talents, including possessing a voice that is appreciated for its Sufi quality.

SIBF 2017 will also host novelist Jamal Naji from Jordan, author of ‘Endama Tasheekh Al Thiaab’ (When Wolves Grow Old).

Other notable authors who will be participating include Saif Al Rahbi, Dr Taleb Al Rifai, Yousuf Rakha, Ahmad Murad, Saud Al Sanousi, Dr Mohammad Hassan Alwan, Thuraya Al Osaili, Yassin Adnan, Najwa Bin Shatwan, Ali Ghadeer, Sa’ad Mohammad Rahim, Tayseer Khalaf, Abdul Kareem Jowaiti, Mohammad Abdul Nabi, Sinan Antoin, Jamal Naji, Kamal Al Riahi, Dr Abdullah Al Washmi, Aisha Al Basri, Ali Al Sitrawi, Dr Najm Abdullah Kadhem, Dr Mohammad Abu Al Fadl Badran, Hassan Al Matroushi, Dr Ahmad Yousuf, Dr Ahmad Al Khamisi, Dr Ahmad Al Fakih, Dr Mohammad Abdul Muttalib, Dr Saleh Bileid, Lena Khoury, Ebrahim Jaber, Samah Edrees, Najm Wali and Dr Ali Al Namlah.