Stock-Schengen Visa
Under the new fee structure, the cost for adult applicants will be Euro 90, up from the current Euro 80. Image Credit: Shutterstock

New Delhi: The European Commission has announced a global increase in short-stay Schengen visa fees, effective from June 11. This decision will see the cost of Schengen visas (visa type C) rise by 12 per cent, impacting travellers planning to visit Europe.

The fee adjustment aims to align with the increasing costs of processing visas and maintaining the security of the Schengen area.

"The European Commission approved a decision to increase short-stay Schengen visa (visa type C) fees worldwide by 12 percent. This increase will apply globally starting June 11, 2024," the Slovenian government said in a statement.

Under the new fee structure, the cost for adult applicants will be Euro 90 (Dh359), up from the current Euro 80 (Dh319). For children aged 6 to below 12 years, the fee will increase from Euro 40 (Dh159) to Euro 45 (Dh179). This hike applies to visa applications submitted worldwide.

Get exclusive content with Gulf News WhatsApp channel

The Schengen visa permits travel across 27 European countries, including popular tourist destinations such as France, Germany, Italy, and Spain.

For adults, the new fee will be Euro 90 (359), and for children aged 6 to below 12, it will be Euro 45 (179). These increases are part of a broader effort to ensure that the costs of visa processing and security measures are adequately covered.

The last fee update was implemented in February 2020, when the adult visa fee was increased to Euro 80 (Dh319) from Euro 60 (Dh239). The European Commission justified the latest hike by citing inflation and the need to cover administrative costs associated with the visa process, which includes background checks, data processing, and maintaining secure entry systems.

Applicants from Armenia, Azerbaijan, and Belarus will pay Euro 35 (Dh139.50), and applicants from Cabo Verde will pay Euro 60 (Dh239.15).

EU countries issuing Schengen visas

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden

Non-EU countries issuing Schengen visas

  • Iceland
  • Liechtenstein
  • Switzerland
  • Norway

EU countries not issuing Schengen visas

  • Cyprus
  • Ireland