Classifieds powered by Gulf News

Safety is key to success for most drivers in RoadStar campaign

Prize just in time for Christmas and New Year, one of the winners says

Winner Ali Ahmad Bu Zinjal receives the Caltex certificate on Tuesday
Image Credit: Supplied
Winner Ali Ahmad Bu Zinjal receives the Caltex certificate on Tuesday.
Gulf News

Sharjah: A number of unsuspecting motorists who followed the traffic rules were in for a surprise on Tuesday as authorities rewarded them with a cash prize for good conduct on the roads.

"I have been driving for three years and am very happy that I was chosen as a good driver. It is easy to drive here if you follow the traffic rules and everybody should drive their best," said Angham Al Ka'abi, 26, from Iraq.

"The prize is great because it came just in time for Christmas and New Year, so I can use it to buy gifts," she said.

Nine motorists in Sharjah were rewarded with a Dh750 cash prize and a certificate for following basic safety regulations such as wearing a seat belt, using indicators and stopping at traffic signals.

"I started driving in the 1950s and the behaviour of drivers was very different.

"Before everybody was calm but now they are aggressive and always ready to fight," said Ali Ahmad Bu Zinjal, a 65-year-old Emirati winner.

"This campaign is good because it will bring awareness to people to drive safely. I am very happy that I was chosen and it was very unexpected, because I always drive properly," said Bu Zinjal.

The week-long Caltex RoadStar campaign was organised by Ciel Marketing and Events in association with Emirates Motor Sports Federation and the traffic police. It is sponsored by Caltex, AXA Insurance and AGMC-BMW.

Zainab Saeed Abdullah, an Emirati mother of two, said she was worried at first when she was flagged down by traffic police to pull over. Zainab was also given a child's car seat for her granddaughter, which was provided by the AGMC-BMW company.

Chosen ones

Angham Al Ka'abi Ali Ahmad Bu Zinjal Said Hassan Bin Surour Zainab Saeed Abdullah Noora Mohammad Sulaiman Saif Hashim Al Katri Fatma Sultan Leman William Abdul Rahman Abdullah Al Mulla