Abu Dhabi: The latest images released by the Abu Dhabi Motorsport Management (ADMM) demonstrate the rapid progress being made in the construction of the Yas Marina Circuit which will host the 2009 Etihad Airways Abu Dhabi Grand Prix on November 15, 2009.

Philippe Gurdjian CEO of Abu Dhabi Motorsport Management (ADMM) said: "I am satisfied with how the project is progressing and I can assure you that we are on schedule."

"Ronald Barrott, the CEO of ALDAR, confirms this whenever we meet, so I don't have any reason to doubt him."

ALDAR Properties, Abu Dhabi's first and fully integrated development company, have been contracted to develop the 5.6km circuit on the 2,550 hectare natural island.

Experienced team

Expressing his satisfaction and delight over the progress, Gurdjian added: "There is a very dedicated and experienced team of people working incredibly hard to ensure that the quality we require is met. So far they have exceeded my expectations - not an easy thing to do by any means."

Legendary Formula 1 circuit designer and architect, Hermann Tilke has designed the Yas Island Circuit which extends over 5.532 metres with nine right turns and 11 left turns which are driven anticlockwise.

Top speeds

The width of the track ranges between 12-15 metres with the widest section being the start-finish-straight which is approximately 500 metres in length while the track will permit top speeds up to 320 km/h and require in narrow curves a deceleration to 90 km/h.

The marina's construction is also underway, with the size and depth of construction allowing Yas Island Circuit to accommodate more than 150 yachts, including up to 20 yachts in excess of 100ft length and six 200ft-long mega yachts, according to Barrot.

While the Federation Internationale de l'Automobile (FIA) has announced the provisional date of November 15, 2009, this date will be confirmed once the final 2009 F1 World Championship race calendar is released in the coming months. Abu Dhabi have secured the rights to host a Grand Prix from for seven years from 2009-2016.