ILT20 TROPHY2-1665426359897
Sheikh Nahayan with Dr Tayeb Kamali (left), Selection Committee Chairman, Emirates Cricket, Khalid Al Zarooni (second from right), Chairman, UAE T20 League, and Mubashshir Usmani. Image Credit: Supplied

Dubai: The UAE cricket achieved a significant milestone when Sheikh Nahayan Mabarak Al Nahayan, Minister of Tolerance and Coexistence and Chairman, Emirates Cricket Board, unveiled the International League T20 (ILT20) trophy at an stakeholder’s function hosted in Dubai on Monday evening.

Mubashshir Usmani, General Secretary, Emirates Cricket Board said: “It is an exciting and significant milestone that the ILT20 trophy made its debut at this event, and it is a matter of delight to do so among our esteemed stakeholders of the League this evening. It was also very heartening to see that legendary cricketing figures could also participate in the celebration and commemoration of this historic event,” according a statement released by the ILT20.

The event was attended by league stakeholders and cricket-greats. The list included Jay Mehta (Abu Dhabi Knight Riders), Paul Voigt (Desert Vipers), Kiran Grandhi (Dubai Capitals), Pranav Adani (Gulf Giants), Nikhil Meswani (Owner, MI Emirates), Rajesh Sharma (Sharjah Warriors), and Punit Goenka (Zee Entertainment Enterprises), alongside cricketing-greats Dwayne Bravo, Wasim Akram, Simon Doull, Robin Uthappa and Brett 

Key aspects

Designed and constructed by world-renowned trophy makers, Thomas Lyte (England), the silver trophy brings together influences that reflect and honour UAE’s rich heritage and culture. Leading this influence is UAE’s majesty icon and revered national bird — the falcon, whose teardrop shape makes up the trophy’s form, while the seven Emirates (of the UAE) are woven in through a seven-pointed crown, shaped as sand dunes inspired by the incredible sands of Tel Moreeb (Al Dhafra, Abu Dhabi), considered to be one of the world’s tallest dunes, proudly sits atop clasping a cricket ball, as the trophy’s finial. In a pointed nod to the UAE’s most famous landmark, the Burj Khalifa, the trophy stands 830mm, reflecting the height of the Burj Khalifa, which measures 830 metres from ground to tip.

ILT20 TROPHY1-1665426354701
Sheikh Nahayan with stake holders of the six franchise and UAE officials during the trophy unveiling ceremony. Image Credit: Supplied

“The team is incredibly proud of this magnificent piece, it truly reflects the essence and the spirit of the league, and we expect it will become a much-coveted trophy, which will take pride-of-place in the winning team’s (trophy) cabinet for years to come,” Usmani added.

34 matches

Cricket fans across the world can catch the LIVE telecast of this exciting cricket league on ZEE’s linear channels, digital platform, Zee5 as well as Zee Cinema SD, Zee Cinema HD, Zee Anmol Cinema, &Pictures HD, &Flix SD, &Flix HD, Zee Zest SD, Zee Zest HD, Zee Bangla Cinema and Zee Thirai.

The franchise-style tournament — International League T20 — boasting of six teams and 34 matches to be played across the UAE, will make its debut in January 2023

Franchise teams, comprising 84 International and 24 UAE-based players, include Abu Dhabi Knight Riders (Kolkata Knight Riders), Desert Vipers (Lancer Capital), Dubai Capitals (GMR), Gulf Giants (Adani Sportsline), MI Emirates (Reliance Industries), and Sharjah Warriors (Capri Global).