Classifieds powered by Gulf News

Dual nationality papers

Lawmakers fail to submit to EC

Gulf News

Islamabad: Many Pakistani parliamentarians have failed to submit to the Election Commission declarations affirming that they do not hold dual nationality.

As a month’s deadline set for the purpose by the Election Commission ended yesterday, additional secretary of the commission Mohmmad Afzal Khan told the media that more than 200 federal and provincial lawmakers have not submitted required declarations.

The commission is to hold a meeting on November 12 to discuss the issue and decide about their fate as legislators in the light of the Supreme Court’s recent verdict.

The apex court on September 20 disqualified 11 lawmakers for holding nationality of foreign countries as the country’s constitution bars a Pakistani having citizenship of another country from becoming member of parliament or a provincial assembly.

The court had asked the Election Commission to obtain fresh declarations on oath from all legislators. Those failing to submit fresh declarations will be presumed to be possessing dual nationality and risk disqualification.

According to reports the lawmakers who have not submitted the declarations include 81 from the National Assembly, 31 from the Senate, 76 from Sindh Assembly, 27 from Punjab Assembly, 7 from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly, and one legislator from the Balochistan Assembly.