Sport - Golf - Joe Jones
2023 Abu Dhabi Golf Club Men's Open Champion Joe Jones (centre) with ADGC Club Captains Chris Rossmeisi and Lynda Raubenheimer Image Credit: Abu Dhabi Golf Club

Joe Jones (Wales) shot a final round 68 for a six under par score of 210 to win the 54-hole Abu Dhabi Golf Club Men’s Open over the National Course.

The 18 year-old left hander is a Welsh International at both Junior and Senior levels and plays off a +2 handicap. He started the day with a two-shot lead.

An eagle three on the par five second was followed by a birdie on hole eight to be out in 33. This maintained his two-shot lead from playing partner Jake Wiltshire (AD City GC). A birdie on hole 11 and a bogey on hole 14, saw Jones hand in a card of 68 with a final birdie on his home hole to extend his winning margin to three shots.

Jones had rounds of 72, 70 and 68, including 13 birdies and an eagle over the three days.

Runner-up Wiltshire had a solid 15 pars and three birdies in his final round to claim solo second place on three under.

The only other player in the field to match par or better for the three round event was Sam Mullane (JGE) with a gross 70 to go along with his first two rounds of 72 and 74.

The best round of the final round was from Jay Mullane (JGE) with a five under 67, with nines of 33 and 34 with no bogeys to finish in fifth.

In the 54-hole Net Division Gustaf Larsson (The Els Club) shot rounds of 70, 67 and 67 off a nine handicap gave him a one-shot victory from home player Damon Mitchell (ADGC).

This event was a qualifier for the 2022 – 2023 Emirates Golf Federation (EGF) Men’s Order of Merit as well as a WAGR event supported by the R&A.

Results (7,318 Yards, Par 72)


J. Jones (Langland Bay GC, Wales) 72, 70, 68 = 210
J. Wiltshire (AD City GC) 73, 71, 69 = 213
S. Mullane (JGE) 72, 74, 70 = 216
J. Parekh (Bombay Presidency Golf Club, India) 73, 73, 71 = 217
J. Mullane (JGE) 75, 76, 67 = 218
E. Galeppini (Dubai Creek) 75, 73, 73 = 221

Net (Handicap in brackets)
G. Larsson (The Els Club) 204 (9)
D. Mitchell (ADGC) 205 (8)
D. Joseph (ADGC) 208 (12)