Winner of the 2022 'Mike Gerbich Cup' Tauseef Khan (left), receiving the trophy from EGC Club Manager Barney Coleman. Image Credit: Supplied

Sunday 25th September saw the playing of the annual Mike Gerbich Cup. The 2022 Cup was competed from the Black Tee Majlis Course in very high temperatures and humidity.

As many of our members know, Mike Gerbich was a familiar face around the Emirates Golf Club for many years. As a long-standing member and former Captain of the club, Mike had been both playing partner and friend to many of the members for many years at Emirates Golf Club. He would commonly feature around the driving range or challenging the likes of Ryder Cup star Henrik Stenson to a game from the back tees on the Majlis.

Great friend

Sadly, Mike passed away in July, 2016, just five days before his great friend Henrik Stenson outplayed Phil Mickelson in an epic Open Championship final round at Royal Troon to lift the Claret Jug for the first time. Henrik kindly dedicated his win to the great man with the statement, “This one’s for you Mike” to conclude his acceptance speech on the 18th green.

Despite the unforgiving weather conditions and Black Tee set up, there were many players who put very good rounds. At the conclusion of play, four players came in tied for the lead on 37 points in the Overall Net Event. The winner by countback for 2022 was Tauseef Khan. Tauseef had an eventful back nine to say the least, carding four net birdies against four net bogeys and only one net par to win out over the rest on back six countback. Max Quack came a close second on the day, losing by a single point on the back six holes. Mustafa Khan claimed the third-place spot, losing out on the top step by just a single point on the back nine count back.

Fast start

The Division A (Hcap 0 to 14) top spot on the day went to Dalip Tripathi who got off to a fast start of two under par net for the front nine. Dalip held firm on the back nine to finish with 36 points and claim the first prize for the division. Second place went to Paul Byrne with 34 points. Paul carded four net birdies on the day to ensure his spot as Runner up for the event.

Division B (Hcap 15 to 28) saw Robert Staton come out on top with 37 points. Despite a costly run of six’s on 16, 17 and 18, Robert played a very solid round and deservedly claimed Division B’s top prize. Ravi Khanna was this year’s Division B runner up with 36 points.

Sanjay Dhandsa won the overall gross prize for the event. Despite a rough start with the triple bogey on the fifth, Sanjay persevered with four birdies in the next six holes to finish with a 73.