Rohit Gupta & Campbell Steedman.
EGC senior's champion Rohit Gupta (right) with EGC men's club captain Campbell Steedman Image Credit: Supplied

A total of 87 golfers faced high temperatures and humidity around a tough Majlis course to compete for this year’s Senior Championship.

Rohit Gupta, with a very impressive gross score of 76, won this year’s Emirates Golf Club Senior's Champion. Rohit played a very solid front nine consisting of two birdies against two bogeys to make the turn in level par and held on to claim this years’ Senior Championship title. Runners-up spot went to Veneet Mohan. Veneet navigated his way around the Majlis Course in 81 strokes. A birdie on the long par 5 third hole helped Veneet to finish two shots clear of third and take home the second place trophy. Third place went to Kush Sama. Kush shot an 83 gross and with the help of a birdie on the tenth, edging out over fourth on a back nine countback.

The Super Senior’s Division consisted of all players over the age of sixty. Continuing a wonderful theme of his captaincy for this year, club captain Campbell Steedman wanted to bring an essence of old Scottish heritage to this event. Campbell had a beautiful handmade hickory ‘Sunday Stick’ created for the 2022 Super Senior’s winner. ‘The Sunday Stick’ was an old Scottish creation back in the mid-19th century, during which time it was forbidden to play golf on the sabbath. The Scottish people of the time had a solution to this, a wooden walking stick made with a discrete clubhead shaped handle. The ‘Sunday Stick’ to an innocent onlooker would appear a normal walking aid but would allow gentlemen of the time to sneak away and use it to play golf when out of sight. The recipient of this wonderful prize as well as the Super Senior’s trophy was Nelly Amarnani. Nelly carded back-to-back birdies on holes 15 and 16 to finish with a gross score of 85.

The third and final division of this year’s championship was the overall net division. Taking top spot with a net score of 70 was Massimo Gallizioli. Massimo collected seven net birdies on the day taking first place by one single point. The second net prize winner for this year was Stuart Dunlop. Stuart, on his birthday, gave it his all coming down the stretch with three net birdies and one net eagle in the closing five holes to finish with a net 71. The third-place winner for this year was Kirtan Desai. Kirtan played a solid round of net 74 to take the third-place trophy.