Abu Dhabi Golf Club, host venue of the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship for 16 consecutive years: the 'Home of Champions.' Image Credit: Supplied

Following the announcement today (Tuesday) that Abu Dhabi Golf Club will host the Hero Cup on the DP World Tour on the National Course, designed by Peter Harradine, in the UAE capital, we look back in history at the number of times the DP World Tour has hosted tournaments at Abu Dhabi Golf Club.

Abu Dhabi Golf Club has hosted 16 consecutive editions of the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship and is fondly still referred to as the ‘Home of Champions.’

The first professional tournament that was hosted at Abu Dhabi Golf Club was on the Legends Tour (then referred to as the European Senior Tour) in 2000, the year the club was opened, and was won by Denis O’Sullivan (Ire) with rounds of 66, 71 and 65 for a 14 under par winning score.

The Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship has a list of champions that are the ‘Who’s Who of the World of Golf.’

The first edition of the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship was hosted by Abu Dhabi Golf Club in 2006, which was won by Chris Dimarco (US).

In the 16 events to date there have been 12 different winners from seven countries.

The multiple winners of the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship have been:

Three-time winner - Martin Kaymer (Ger) 2008, 2010 and 2011.

Two-time winner - Paul Casey (Eng) 2007 and 2009.

Two-time winner – Tommy Fleetwood (Eng) 2017 and 2018.

The winners of the Abi Dhabi HSBC Championship at Abi Dhabi Golf Club have been:

2006 Chris Dimarco (US) 20 under par.

2007 Paul Casey (Eng) 17 under par.

2008 Martin Kaymer (Ger) 15 under par.

2009 Paul Casey (Eng) 21 under par.

2010 Martin Kaymer (Ger) 21 under par.

2011 Martin Kaymer (Ger) 24 under par.

2012 Robert Rock (Eng) 13 under par.

2013 Jamie Donaldson (Wales) 14 under par.

2014 Pablo Larrazabal (Spain) 14 under par.

2015 Gary Stal (Fr) 19 under par.

2016 Rickie Fowler (US) 16 under par.

2017 Tommy Fleetwood (Eng) 17 under par.

2018 Tommy Fleetwood (End) 22 under par.

2019 Shane Lowry (Ire) 18 under par.

2020 Lee Westwood (Eng) 19 under par.

2021 Tyrrell Hatton (Eng) 18 under par.