Ariana and Billie-1656487500113
Ariana DeBose and Billie Eilish Image Credit: AP

Recent Oscar winners Ariana DeBose, Troy Kotsur and Billie Eilish are among the 397 individuals who have been invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

TAB Troy Kostur-1648459779072
Troy Kotsur won Best Actor in a Supporting Role for 'CODA' at this year's Oscars Image Credit: AFP

The organisation that puts on the Oscars said Tuesday that 44 per cent of the 2022 class identifies as women, 50 per cent come from outside of the US and 37 per cent are from underrepresented ethnic and racial communities. If the invitees accept, which most do, they will have voting privileges at the 95th Academy Awards.

Actors invited this year include Anya Taylor-Joy, Jessie Buckley, Gaby Hoffman, ‘Belfast’ co-stars Jamie Dornan and Caitriona Balfe, as well as Jesse Plemons and Kodi Smit-McPhee, both of ‘The Power of the Dog.’ There is also a significant international presence as well, with invites going to Iran’s Amir Jadidi (‘A Hero’), Norway’s Renate Reinsve (‘The Worst Person in the World’), France’s Vincent London (‘Titane’), Nigeria’s Funke Akindele (‘Jenifa’) and Japan’s Hidetoshi Nishijima (‘Drive My Car’).

Copy of Oscars-New_Members_75409.jpg-c0355-1656487502694
This combination of photos shows some of the new members named to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, top row from left, Andrew Ahn, Mariano Barroso, Lori Tan Chinn, Pawo Choyning Dorji, and Robin de Jesús, second row from left, Jamie Dornan, Billie Eilish, Ryusuke Hamaguchi , Jeremy O. Harris, and Gaby Hoffmann, third row from left, Amir Jadidi, Troy Kotsur, Adele Lim, Olga Merediz, and Hidetoshi Nishijima, bottom row from left, Finneas O’Connell, Jesse Plemons, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Kodi Smit-McPhee, and Anya Taylor-Joy. (AP Photo) Image Credit: AP

Directors on the list include Andrew Ahn (‘Fire Island’), Reinaldo Marcus Green (‘King Richard’), Mary Lambert (‘Pet Sematary II’), Amy Seimetz (‘She Dies Tomorrow’) and Isabel Sandoval (‘Lingua Franca’).

Several people, including ‘Flee’ director Jonas Poher Rasmussen, ‘Drive My Car’ writer-director Ryusuke Hamaguchi and ‘CODA’ writer-director Sian Heder, were invited in multiple branches, but they must choose one when accepting.

Finneas O'Connell, left, and Billie Eilish poses for photographers upon arrival for the World premiere of the new film from the James Bond franchise 'No Time To Die', in London Tuesday, Sept. 28, 2021. (AP Photo/Matt Dunham)
Finneas O’Connell with his sister, Billie Eilish Image Credit: AP

In the music branch, Eilish’s brother Finneas O’Connell was also invited, alongside Dan Romer (‘Luca’) and Nathan Johnson (‘Knives Out’). And writing branch invitees include Jeremy O. Harris (‘Zola’), Adele Lim (‘Crazy Rich Asians’), Alex Ross Perry (‘Listen Up Philip’), Jon Spaihts (‘Dune’) and Craig Mazin (‘The Hangover Part II’).

Every year the academy invites a new batch of entertainment professionals to join the organisation. Though an Oscar nomination is not a requirement, it is often a starting point. The 2022 class of invitees, for instance, includes 71 Oscar nominees and 15 winners.

The academy has for years put a special emphasis on diversifying their ranks. If all accept from this year’s class, 34 per cent of the academy would be women, 19 per cent from an underrepresented community and 23 per cent from outside of the United States.

The 95th Academy Awards will be held in Los Angeles on March 12, 2023.